...and the end of all our exploring...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Niagara-On-The-Lake
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time." ~T.S. Eliot

I left my hotel room at 11:00 p.m. on Sunday night and walked into my home in Niagara at 3:00 p.m. on Monday afternoon. That's a lot of hours of being in transit from one place to another and I was very grateful to finally be still. In spite of the fact that I'd had very little sleep ( I don't do well sleeping in an up-right position AND there was a screaming baby on the plane from Lima to Atlanta) I managed to stay awake until about 10 p.m. Then I slept for 12 hours.

Today I feel good. Rested and almost ready to face the world again.

Michael asked if the house felt any different. I replied that if felt HUGE. Gigantic. I had forgotten that we live in a palace. Ah.....travel....

Selected photos to follow.....if I can get it done today.

Go somewhere.....it's good for you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Cuesta San BlasCuesta San Blas
Cuesta San Blas

The street that my Spanish School was on in Cusco.
...still Cuesta San Blas...still Cuesta San Blas
...still Cuesta San Blas

The new Cusco built on the ruins of ancient Inca foundations. Still standing!
The Happy TravelerThe Happy Traveler
The Happy Traveler

At Machupicchu at last. Exhausted but elated.
MachupicchuMachupicchu
Machupicchu

The jungle at the foot of the ancient city hides the 30% of the site that has never been uncovered.
Looking downLooking down
Looking down

A view down the back-side of the mountain showing how close to the edge you can get.
"Photo Senor?""Photo Senor?"
"Photo Senor?"

Photo op., with baby alpaca, for a few Soles.
HomeHome
Home

The house I stayed in, in Cusco.
CocaCoca
Coca

The bag of coca leaves I bought from a lady at the market for s/2. And for the record, it takes around 12 kilos of these, plus a whole lot of other chemicals, to make 1 gram of cocaine.
Modern LimaModern Lima
Modern Lima

The Marriot/TelMex towers in Miraflores.
Colonial MansionColonial Mansion
Colonial Mansion

A typical house in San Isidro, the neighborhood I stayed in. This house is unusual because it isn't behind a stone wall or electrified fence.
Old next to NewOld next to New
Old next to New

The condo towers are slowly taking over along the Pacific coast in Miraflores.
ParaglidingParagliding
Paragliding

Because the winds coming off the ocean are constant and usually quite strong, paragliding is popular.
ParaglidingParagliding
Paragliding

Hanging out over the beach.
ParaglidingParagliding
Paragliding

Looking down the coast from my paraglider.
ParaglidingParagliding
Paragliding

High above Lima. One last look.
At homeAt home
At home

My best (and really, the only) sovenier of Peru. Our hand-woven, alpaca wool blanket, drying on the shower rod at home.


30th January 2008

Short on the cocoa leaves!!!
Why did you come up so short on the cocoa leaves?! What're y'gonna do with it now?? Keeping my blood thinned in anticipation of our cooking demo for y'both....

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb