Don't go chasing waterfalls


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Niagara Falls
August 21st 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So from Washington it is off to New York state and a little town called Buffalo. Buffalo is a popular uni town and a good base if you want to go to the Falls. Also home of Buffalo wings. I got off the train at 7 and the place was a ghost town. Now my lonely planet could be lying or when schools out there is no one here.

Arriving at my hostel which is quite busy i relaxed and chatted to other travellers. A lot of the people i'm meeting now are those who did camp america and are now seeing the sights in the few weeks left they have.

I was up early the next day and hopped on a bus to Niagra Falls. The American side. Walking to goat island which separates the american falls with the horseshoe falls (canadian falls) I found that the drop wasn't as big as i expected but the amount of water going over is crazy.

It was then i decided i'll hop on the maid of the mist as some looked packed and i didn't want to queue all day. Luckily i was straight on. Now wearing my fantastic
The Falls The Falls The Falls

Viewed from Canada
blue poncho the view of the falls from the bottom is sweet, especially when the water thunders down. Now the American falls bit didn't really give off that much of a 'mist'. We got a bit damp but that's about it. Then we hit the Horseshoe falls and boy it was like a sudden down pourof rain. I have a fantastic video which i'll hopefully put on soon where it looks like i've just been attack and am fighting the person off simply as i'm trying to protect my camera.

Thankfully my poncho kept me dry. Then came the big decision... "do i go over rainbow bridge to Canada?" I've got my passport and I don't need to pay for a visa. I decided to go then i could say i've been to 6 countries on my trip. So i hit Canada and i swear thew temperature went up a few degrees. Now upon Entering Canada there was one guy (no mountie i'm afraid) sitting behind his desk reading a novel.
"How long are you planning to stay in Canada?" he asked me
"About an hour!" came my response.
After covering up a little smile i got a 6 month visa!!

The canadian side of the Falls seemed busier but gives really good views of both the American and Canadian parts. I picked up some bit but realised i only had american dollars not Canadian. I think the place accepted them but it all went on my card anyway!!

I headed back a little while later and enjoyed a walk along Lake Erie.

Returning to the US about an hour or more later i walk into the building where there are 4 officers (not reading). I go to the next available and am interogated. Luckily I made it through back to my bag.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb