A Shorter Ride to Lakeview


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Nestor Falls
August 3rd 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

A Shorter Ride to Lakeview

Friday, 3 August 2007

Today was another moving day, so we all “jumped” into Casper (after Bob loaded everything into the van) & drove together to the place where Bob had picked me up yesterday. There he dropped off Silver & me, so that we could cycle to Lakeview Lodge, our next destination, near Nestor Falls. We didn’t know exactly where it was, but most of these sorts of places have signs on the highway indicating where they are, so I wasn’t particularly worried as to our chances of finding it; the question was whether or not we would find it within my 60-kilometer limit. If it was located much past the town of Nestor Falls, it could have been up to 70 km away.

Anyway, it was a decent ride, plus I had the opportunity to meet with Bob & Panna at Sioux Narrows for lunch, as he had to take her for a bit of a walk after he dropped me off. It was kind of neat to eat with my “buds” there at the lunch spot. My only problem was reaching it - there was work being done on the bridge at Sioux Narrows, and it was down to one narrow lane, controlled by a traffic light. I hadn’t realized that there was a pedestrian sidewalk lane to the right of the traffic lane, so I made my way across the bridge on foot, being passed by traffic going my direction, then by traffic going the other direction. Kind of unnerving.

There weren’t as many hills as yesterday, but somehow they seemed more difficult; perhaps they were a bit longer, or maybe my muscles had not recovered from yesterday’s workout. I don’t think the wind was any more of a problem than what I’ve encountered on previous days, so I won’t use that as an excuse. One other problem was the biting flies - flies which resemble houseflies, but they bite! And when I’m moving too slowly, as when going up a big hill, or when stopping for a break, they hitch a ride & are very annoying!

Anyway, I did notice that there was a big sign for Lakeview Lodge to the left of the highway a fair bit north of the town of Nestor Falls. So I turned onto it & rode in, expecting to find the van. However it was nowhere to be seen. Then Mary, the lady who runs the place, came out onto her deck, inquiring if I was “Leah”. Seems Bob had driven into town for some liquid refreshments and was expected back shortly. I asked her about the road between the resort & Nestor Falls, and she said it was pretty difficult, with a big hill soon after one leaves their driveway. So I decided to stay put; I only hoped that Bob was not sitting by the side of the road waiting for me to catch up with him, as I’d gone only about 50 kilometres up to that point. But it was pretty hot, and I was pretty bushed, so I figured that if he did not come back within about a 1/2 hour I’d use the satellite phone & call him. As it was he did return shortly & was quite surprised to see me there already. So it worked out OK in the end.

This was another cottage/cabin type of accommodation. Unfortunately there was no TV, phone, or air-conditioning, but we did have wi-fi access to the internet. And once the sun went down, with the windows open the cabin did cool down nicely, so it wasn’t too bad. This time I did the cooking, as the only barbecues were of the charcoal variety, and we had tacos, neat! Alas, there seems to be some problem with Travelblog, and I am unable to update my blog entries. Hopefully it will be resolved soon!

DAY 38: 49.8 km, in 2:50 hrs, ave. speed 17.5 km/hr, max. speed 40.7 km/hr


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb