Bruce Trail hike - Day 6 - Beamer Memorial Conservation Area to New Mountain Road Stoney Creek


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Hamilton
May 8th 2016
Published: May 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today would be my first full day hiking in the Iroquioan section of the Bruce Trail. I have already mailed my travel blog to the Niagara Trail association.

Starting hiking at 8AM at Beamer Conservation Area. The first 2 km or so is walking down Ridge Rd. You should keep walking until you see the communication tower and turn right. You walk for another 500 meter until you turn onto the trail. This trail runs along the edge of the Escarpment and has a nice view of the Lake in the distance. The trail is fairly level and easy to walk on. You will pass over Fifty Road and McNeilly Rd but for the most part you are just walking through the woods. I was the first one walking through that morning and I knew this because I kept running through spider webs that had been stretched across the narrow hiking trail. Bugs were starting to come out again so I have to remember bug spray next time.

Just after you cross McNeilly Rd you are walking just underneath the railway tracks for the next few KM. The last 5 KM is rocky and a bit hilly. Overall I was making good time on today's trail. The last KM of the hike you are walking just above a neighborhood. Some of the houses are quite nice and you are walking through a pleasant part of Stoney Creek. I ended my hike at New Mountain Rd and rested for a few minutes by the side of the Rd before taking an Uber back to my car.

Today's hike was the easiest out of the 6 I have done so far. It was level terrain and the weather was not too cold or warm. Compared to the last 2 hikes this was a walk in the park 😊. Today was 19KM and just under 4 hours of hiking. I have now hiked about 100KM on the Bruce Trail. Next week Jolley Cut Hamilton.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb