Return to the Fort


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Fort Frances
August 6th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Return to the Fort

Monday, 6 August 2007

Today we left our temporary home at Lakeview, heading south towards Fort Frances. For myself the plan was to cycle from the point where I stopped yesterday to the hotel where we were booked - NOT the same place as in June! My bicycle of choice was Blue, as I’d used Silver quite a bit lately. The bicycle felt really light, easy to “push”, and I enjoyed it immensely, although, as usual, the traffic was sometimes a bit “scary”, especially in spurts on Highway 11.

The skies clouded up as I was approaching the motel, and rain actually had begun when I pulled into the lot. Bob & Panna were outside waiting for me. Seems she’d been unwell, tummy upset, diarrhea, etc, so he had taken her out pretty frequently. The hope was that she’d eaten something not good for her, but I gave her some “bland” diet food for her dinner & at that she had a small dinner too. (She was OK the next day, fortunately)

Anyway, we got settled in & had our dinner delivered, something which we seem to be doing more often on the nights we change locales - it’s easier than trying to go out again in a new place. Panna’s crate has been a life-saver as a dinner & breakfast table - hope she doesn’t mind!

We also called Darell, the fellow we saw when we were here in June, and we decided to try to get together either on Tuesday or Wednesday for dinner with him & his wife, Patti.

That night I bent the “rules” and let Panna sleep in bed with me, as I’m inclined to ignore her whining in the crate at night, but if she really had to “go” I’d be more aware of it if we were in bed together - I think she enjoyed the experience, the little bed-hog.

DAY 41: 55.2 km, in 3:28 hours, ave. speed 15.9 km/hr (yes, the headwinds again), max. speed 32.5 km/hr


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb