Days 22 & 23 - the end of this adventure


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Cambridge
June 20th 2023
Published: June 20th 2023
Edit Blog Post

As I write this I’m sitting in the Maple Leaf Lounge at Toronto Pearson International Airport waiting to board Air Canada flight 856, and due to land at London Heathrow around 08:35 tomorrow. It was strange saying goodbye to Susan, Sarah, Victoria, Sadie and Cash – I’ll miss them all!

As I'm sure you can imagine, yesterday was a quiet day. We spend most of it just chilling at Susan’s home in Cambridge, but we did pop out to meet Lyn and her grandson, Joe-Joe, for a walk and to grab some caches. It was a hot afternoon, but the walk was very pleasant, it was lovely to see Lyn again, and Joe-Joe is a wonderful smiley baby! I even took a turn at pulling his wagon. As far as I’m aware, we don’t have baby wagons in the UK, but I can’t understand why not.

It was a very quiet evening in the garden until it cooled down and we moved to the sitting room. I started watching series one of The Lake – I managed two episodes. It’s set in north Ontario around a beautiful lake but the story leaves a bit to be desired!

After a really good sleep I spent an hour or so packing and managed to fit everything into my suitcase! The early afternoon was spent doing part of a jigsaw puzzle with Susan and Victoria before they dropped me off at the airport.

It’s been a fabulous trip! I’ve loved spending time with Susan, and am priviledged to have been able to visit and travel across the biggest country in the world with the most lakes in the world!

Highlights for me are swimming in the Bay of Fundy, seeing Niagra Falls, visiting the Rockie Mountains, meeting Susan’s daughters and so many of her lovely friends. Other things to reflect on are learning the words Adirondack and Muskoka, eating very fresh lobster, passing a total of 1500 caches, revisiting chowder - I don’t think I’ve had any since New Zealand – discovering ice wine, and going on a HOHO in Toronto - I just LOVE them!

We've eaten and drunk too much, had laughs, walked, chatted and had an absolutely brilliant time together. Oh, and mosquitoes have played a large part in trip, but not as a highlight!

I’m sure there are other things that’ll spring to mind once I’ve published this but c'est la vie

One thing I will say though is a MASSIVE thank you to Susan for her incredible hospitality, for planning our trip, for driving around 2500km and for being a fabulous travel buddy! And of course a thank you to Sarah and Victoria for putting up with me in their home.

Our next trip together is to Vietnam starting in around 141 days. Before then I’m heading off to Greece in 88 days, so watch this space for my next blog.

Au revoir for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb