Got my placement


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Burlington
August 4th 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So I officially got my placement:

The name of the organization where I will be is called Mother Theresa's Home for the Dying and the Destitute (Nuestra Señora de la Paz) in the La Victoria district in Lima.

Hogar Nuestra Señora de la Paz is a center for physically and mentally challenged individuals who are the poorest among the poor and have been abandoned by everyone, including their families. This hospice is part of Mother Theresa’s opus around the world, and has been active in Lima since 1973 in an inner-city area of Lima. There are 52 infants and children in the second floor of the building (the children's ward) and over a hundred adult males in the first level, all of them severely disabled, who depend of the nuns and volunteers for food, hygiene, care and support.

While I'm there working in the children's ward, I'll have the opportunity to help the nuns care for the babies and children who live at the hospice. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I'll also support the MD and therapists in providing physical and occupational therapy for the childen.

I know this sounds pretty intense, but I'm really excited to get there and meet everyone. What could possibly be better than working with nuns?


Advertisement



9th August 2008

GO POKE!!!
Have a safe flight Pokey. We will miss you and are thinking about you. MKEK xo
10th August 2008

You Made it!
Hey Poke - Mom told me that you made it! Woo Hoo!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb