out on the land


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nunavut » Iqaluit
June 22nd 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

view of Frobisher Bayview of Frobisher Bayview of Frobisher Bay

view next to the Visitor's Centre
It was wonderful to finally land on the Iqaluit airstrip. Michael, along with are old friends, Don and Karen Tattrie as well as a couple of his co-workers from Arviat, Jason and Alison all met me at the airport. Wow you would think I was important or something, LOL! They all helped with my bags and then Michael and I were dropped off at the Capital Suites were we would be living until we found an apartment. Michael and I caught up on news from each other and before we knew it, it was time to go over to another friend of ours, Don Hutton's for dinner. Now Don H. is an extraordinary cook and we have sat at his table a number of times over the past two years when we were all living in Cape Dorset and true to form he had a scrumptious leg of lamb for us to feast on. Don, Karen, Jason and Allison were also there and we had a great time talking to everyone. It was nice getting to know Jason and Alison. Jason originally from Newfoundland has been working for the Nunavut Housing Corp for over a year whereas Alison has just been
little inukshuklittle inukshuklittle inukshuk

view of inukshuk on the land
newly hired from the south.
For the next couple of days I rested up for the most part and managed a couple of short walks around the town. On Wednesday I was able to go out to the research station with May that she had erected on Monday and Tuesday. We ended up getting a ride out to the site, about 4 or 5 km away and chose to walk back. On my way to the research station that morning I happened to see a fellow outside the Wildlife office so I stopped and asked him if there had been any wildlife sitings recently. Of course he pulled my leg for a second or two but then reassured me that nothing had been reported for several weeks. Whew, I was quite relieved because I didn't even have bear spray with me and I didn't think May would have any either because it is not something we were allowed to transport on to the aircraft up here. We had a good morning and I was able to take a number of pictures for May, of her at the site. The walk back was mostly downhill but I was still very tired
Raven flapping its wingsRaven flapping its wingsRaven flapping its wings

raven by the shore down by Frobisher Bay
afterward. We stopped at the hostel where May was staying and had lunch. While May entered some data into her computer from the research station I was able to get a bit of a rest. We headed back into town. Then May and I planned our next meeting for the next day where we would walk along the shore out to Apex ( a community about 4 or 5 km north of Iqaluit).

Next morning I wasn't feelling well so I had to postpone our outing. I was very thankful to learn later from May that she did walk out toward Apex afterall.

On Friday morning I was feeling better so May and I walked along the beach of Frobisher Bay. Overnight the wind had blown some of the ice out of the bay so we were able to take pictures of huge chunks of ice and open water too. We found some spring flowers, namely the arctic poppy and dwarf fireweed. We had lunch back at the hotel room with Michael and then went on a tour of the Legislative Building. After that we continued down to the Visitor's centre and Museum. It was really awesome seeing
Capital SuitesCapital SuitesCapital Suites

we are staying here in an one bedroom hotel suite
all sorts of things, from stone sculptures, carvings, prints, artifacts etc. etc.. Before returning back home I found a place that sold arctic char and purchased the smallest one I could find. Unfortunately May didn't stay for dinner but we tentatively planned another hike out to the Slyvia Grinnell River the next morning before her flight. I had also met another gal (Denise) who works at the hotel and she would be joining us.

Saturday morning May decided not to come on the hike for fear of not getting back in time for her flight, so Denise and I went on our own. May is returning in the later part of July and we are planning more hikes upon her return.



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

kids outingkids outing
kids outing

daycare in front of our hotel suite, and yes I did ask permission to take these pictures
little boylittle boy
little boy

isn't he the cutest
another little guyanother little guy
another little guy

I got a tentative smile eh?
Stone sculptureStone sculpture
Stone sculpture

there are a lot of sculptures like this one around the city
Research CentreResearch Centre
Research Centre

located in Iqaluit, Nu
view of the stationview of the station
view of the station

research station erected tor the summer
closer view of stationcloser view of station
closer view of station

measures CO2 in the air, temperature and moisture of the soil, air temperature, amount of rainfall etc..
closer view of the instrumentcloser view of the instrument
closer view of the instrument

solar powered throughout the summer
Inuit CarvingInuit Carving
Inuit Carving

carving of walruses
Wall hangingWall hanging
Wall hanging

wall hanging made on duffle on a seal skin stretcher frame
carvingcarving
carving

marble carving
live sized marble carvinglive sized marble carving
live sized marble carving

made by several carvers
MuskoxMuskox
Muskox

head of a Muskox
Polar BearPolar Bear
Polar Bear

in visitor's centre
KomotiqKomotiq
Komotiq

sled that is pulled behind the skidoo
old relicold relic
old relic

this ship has been here since we were first living in Iqaluit in 1986


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb