Fun with Thomas Two and Tyler Too . . .


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
July 10th 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Halifax . . .

This morning I checked out of the hostel, returned the rental car and went for one last walk along the waterfront.

My friend Tyler, who I visited with earlier in the week, tour guides aboard "Theodore Two" based on the children's cartoon. It's a tugboat with a cartoon face on it and it is a popular tour for families. I stopped in at the gift shop to see if he was there and he was! We chatted for a little bit and then I got an invite to join Tyler and Captain Dave onboard Theodore! It was really fun. The kids on the tour were so little and super cute. We were all given colouring books that included a map of the Halifax Harbour and the different sites we were going to see. The tour combines interesting facts for the adults with fun stuff for the kids. We cruised around and saw all of Theodore's friends, like Benjamin Bridge and Lily Lighthouse and Thomas the Train. When we passed under the bridge we jumped up to try to touch it - one little kid yelled "I almost got it!". And when we got close to some of his friends, we'd all hold up one hand and call out "Toot toot!" Pretty cute. And of course it was nice to see the Harbour from the water and especially to see Tyler in action.

After our cruise, Tyler and I chatted a little bit and then I headed off. I grabbed a quick lunch. Before I left home, I'd promised Aunt Renee that I would get a lobster roll down along the water. All week, I'd savoured many great seafood meals, but I'd yet to have my lobster roll. So that was my last meal in the city. Then I was off to catch the shuttle bus to the airport.

Now here I am seated in the Halifax Airport, enjoying free wireless internet - as it should be in airports I think! Home tonight and off to camp tomorrow . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Buidlings DowntownBuidlings Downtown
Buidlings Downtown

Cool fact: those things that look like straws at the bottom? They ARE straws! Water is pulled up and used to cool the buildings.
Pier 21 & 22Pier 21 & 22
Pier 21 & 22

Pier 21 is in the centre and to the right. The section to the left is Pier 22, where the cruise ships dock.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb