Cross-Canadian Summer Vacation (Halifax and Peggy's Cove, NS) Day 1 2006


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
July 1st 2006
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Peggy's CovePeggy's CovePeggy's Cove

One of my favorite places on Earth.
My Grand Tour of Canada has begun! Or my Cross-Canadian Caper has begun, I don't know what to call it yet. My goal is t go from Halifax to Victoria all across the vast expanse of Canada. Part of the way my best Canadian Friend Ever Horty will join me. The rest of the way I will be by myself. I start off in Halifax after flying the night before.

I've also received a huge monstrosity of a car to drive since it was the only one available. Poor me. Wish me luck!

Started the morning off at Peggy's Cove and it is already one of my favorite places on Earth! The weather started off very murky and Morrissey-ish but then got all bright and sunny by noon. Its a great place to visit and the boulders look awesome!

I also fell on my ass pretty hard so before of treacherous moss covered rocks!

Afterwards I headed back to Halifax for a day of sightseeing and strolling. Took the ferry across to Dartmouth just to watch the sunset and enjoyed life a little. Its a great start to the trip so far. Tomorrow I meet Horty. It
Peggy's Cove RocksPeggy's Cove RocksPeggy's Cove Rocks

The cliffs are made of grey granite.
will be great to see him!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Atlantic OceanAtlantic Ocean
Atlantic Ocean

The unrelenting Atlantic Ocean in the background. My Cross-Canadian Trip official starts here.
TouristsTourists
Tourists

Tourists sightseeing at peggy's Cove.
The Lighthouse.The Lighthouse.
The Lighthouse.

There's a post-office inside.
Mounties!!!!!Mounties!!!!!
Mounties!!!!!

I want to wear the uniform.
The Cliffs.The Cliffs.
The Cliffs.

Looking out to the cliffs and ocean.
The CoastThe Coast
The Coast

The Atlantic Ocean meets Nova Scotia.
The Lighthouse AgainThe Lighthouse Again
The Lighthouse Again

Quite possibly my favorite lighthouse in the world.
Fishing BoatsFishing Boats
Fishing Boats

I fell on my ass after I slipped on the rocks. The rocks are treacherous.
Old Town ClockOld Town Clock
Old Town Clock

Built in 1803. Located at the base of the Citadel.
Halifax Public GardensHalifax Public Gardens
Halifax Public Gardens

Trees line the walking paths at the gardens.
Halifax Public GardensHalifax Public Gardens
Halifax Public Gardens

Tranquil pond at the gardens.
The CitadelThe Citadel
The Citadel

Unfortunatly the Citadel was closed by the time I go there.
Keep Off!Keep Off!
Keep Off!

Apparently the kids don't listen. I wouldn't either.
SunshineSunshine
Sunshine

Watching the sun set while crossing to dartmouth by ferry.
HalifaxHalifax
Halifax

Sunset in Halfiax from the ferry.


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb