A lebanese yankee in halifax harbor


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hans and Ling left today and the rest of us slept in late. We grabbed a quick lunch at a Vietnamese restaurant with Robyn’s Aunt and Uncle and Aurie. Then Robyn and I went down to the pier to see the Tall Ships at the Festival. We were actually able to go on The Spirit of Baltimore II. This tall ship was majestic and romantic. The shutter on my camera just would not stop. The water in the harbor is blue as can be and the sun shown down on us as we walked the wooden deck. Later - a bit of shopping as we walk around beautiful downtown Halifax. Robyn fell in love with the candy store here and I found an artistic little gift for my Dad for his birthday.

In the evening we had a smashing meal at Mezza - a Lebanese and Greek restaurant that they decided to try in my honor. I did my best to help them decide on dishes they would like, and fortunately it was a fantastic restaurant. I was a little worried, because it was the first time Daniel was trying Mediterranean food, and I wanted his experience to be a good one. Only one problem - we ordered WAY too much food. Everything was really delicious though, the hummus was some of the best Robyn and I have ever had. And although they didn’t have stuffed lamb grape leaves, the cold veggie ones were pretty good. But the real winner of the night was the falafel. Succulent and perfectly textured with a scrumptious yogurt/cucumber sauce, the Mezza falafel is a gem that deserves to be discovered by your taste buds. Full as can be, we took another walk down the pier to get some exercise. Halifax has done it again, another beautiful evening.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb