West Across Newfoundland to Channel/Port aux Basques


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Corner Brook, just South of Deer Lake, has the only Walmart in NewfoundlandCorner Brook, just South of Deer Lake, has the only Walmart in NewfoundlandCorner Brook, just South of Deer Lake, has the only Walmart in Newfoundland

And is condemned for being "too crowded" and "too fast" by a few native dwellers I met. None of the guidebooks even mentions it.
It is interesting how when you “turn your face towards home” everything changes. Gander is as far East on Newfoundland as I go. By turning back towards the West, I was abandoning the Eastward Quest, and heading for Virginia. There would still be new lands, new places, but the push East had been broken. The tradeoff between speed and exploration changes. Now there is an arrival date. Today was a case in point. I had to make a ferry time tomorrow morning. So I had to do the 570 km to Port aux Basques today – straight West and then Southwest on the Trans Canada highway. I set a new standard – I would do a Tim Hortons crawl – drinking latte’s every hour and a half – until I got there. It worked like a charm. Plus, I adopted an ‘avoid a moose’ strategy by getting in behind vehicles that were going my speed, and staying there. Big fast moving vehicles can hit a moose and survive. I cannot.

This evening I saw something unique – a memory of both Ed and Gwynn in one photograph: the museum commemorating the railroad which used to cross Newfoundland, stands alongside a big new gazebo. I will show it to their daughters.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Too bad it doesn't go anywhere any more.  Too bad it doesn't go anywhere any more.
Too bad it doesn't go anywhere any more.

It used to cross the island. Now the rail bed is used for ATV trips.
The first of many ferries to Sydney. The first of many ferries to Sydney.
The first of many ferries to Sydney.

My crossing was without incident.


15th June 2017

Moose Head
I speak-a English. I learned it from a booook.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb