Lucky with the weather


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well not quite at Twillingate......but we spent last nite in Lewisporte, south of it. I am sitting at the Gander Chamber of Commerce (which doubles as the local employment centre) updating the blog. Pat is off looking for an electronics place to get the laptop looked at.

We left Tuesday morning for the Viking area of L'anse aux Meadows. It is currently under construction so there is no admission charge (yay!) They have kept it simple, yet realistic of how it was so many years ago when Vikings ruled this part of the land. We walked around (avoided the large tour groups), checked out the replica house and hiked around the boardwalk. Ready to hit the road again before noon. Yes, the black flies found us again!

As we headed south we had sightings of 4 moose! One magnificent creature was standing a bit away but what a rack he had! Landed in the KOA of Gross Morne for the nite, the mountains surrounding us with their majestic power. During my nightly pee outside, the stars were so bright and clear, I felt I could reach out and touch them! Next morning everything was covered in a heavy dew and we continued south.

The weather looking very uncertain on Wednesday as we make our way toward St John's. It left us uncertain if we should visit any of the peninsula areas, including Fogo Island. Sometimes the best decision is not to make one so we just kept motoring! Last night in Lewisporte, we expected rainfall and only a sprinkle fell! I made use of the campground's awesome boardwalk for a run. Feeling like a bit of a slug these days spending so much time on my butt!

Again, I apologize for the lack of pics, have them ready to download once I get my laptop up and running again. As I pass by countless roadside memorials of loved ones lost, I think of all of you and hope you are happy and healthy!





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb