Day 1 - Enroute to Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick
August 28th 2015
Published: August 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Road Trip from NY to New Brunswick, Canada

I traveled on the major highways from New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine. At Bangor, Maine, I took the local Route 9 and then Route 1 to Calais, Maine, where I crossed the international bridge into Saint Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada on August 28, 2015.

Day 1.1Day 1.1Day 1.1

Canada or Bust
I have a nice perk at work, July and August, we only need to work half day on Fridays - work permitting, of course. So, I woke up early and worked from 7 - 11am. By 11:15, I had all my stuff in the car and I was on the road. I drove about 15 miles, when I realized that I forgot the most important thing for this trip -- my passport. Thank God, it was only after 15 miles.

The rest of the drive from New York was uneventful. My route took me through the major interstates from New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine. As I entered Maine, my first time in this state, I took a break and went to the visitor's center. The man at the help desk told me to fill up on gas as the last leg of my journey to the US-Canada boarder would not have any gas stations. By the time I made it to Bangor, ME, it was about 8pm. I decided to push it and drive across the boarder. This is where I had to take the local route 9. The international crossing was quick, the guard asked me
Day 1.2Day 1.2Day 1.2

Road trip
lots of question, not sure if this usual.

By now it was 9:30pm, the previous day I emailed a motel in the vicinity asking if they had available rooms (but didn't make reservation since I wasn't sure I would make it this far), I was still hoping they had at least 1 room left. I forgot to make a note of the name and address of the motel, so I tried to look it up on my smartphone, but had a hard time connecting to my service provider. Once I had the name and address, I drove straight to the motel - hoping they weren't closed yet. I was in luck! I quickly checked-in and put my stuff in the room. Then I drove to the nearest bank to get some money.

As I prepared for bed, I was glad to make it so far without incident.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb