An Authentic Maritime Experience: Grand Manan Island, NB


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Grand Manan
April 1st 2014
Published: April 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Grand Manan Island is often an overlooked destination, as it is a tiny little speck on a map. Located in the Bay of Fundy, Grand Manan is the largest island, among many others. Many famous scientists, artists, and writers gather here for its natural wonders and scenery, the diverse wildlife, and the easy-going lifestyle that has been adapted. This fishing community harvests lobster, scallops, and seaweeds, and is well known for dulse, the nutritious, salty seaweed that grows on the shores of the island. I was lucky enough to grow up in such a beautiful place, and I can talk about it with great pride, as I can truly say I come from one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Grand Manan is a small community, one of about 2300 people, which made for some interesting community dynamics. Parents feel safe to let their children out of their sight, as the whole community watches over them. If there is a tragedy in the community, you can bet that the neighbours are baking goods and pulling their resources to make lives more comfortable. The friendly nature of the people on Grand Manan Island is unmatchable, and everyone who steps foot on the island is greeted with open arms and a warm heart.When people ask me, “What was it like growing up on a small island in the middle of the ocean?” they often assume that it was boring, miserable, and isolated from the rest of the existing world. Growing up on Grand Manan Island was anything but that. I had access to the natural world, rock formations, beaches, ponds, brooks, cliffs, and more wildlife than I can list. Grand Manan is particularly famous for the whales that visit our waters, and the birds that can be found. There are over 300 species of birds on Grand Manan, including endangered species, which attracts many scientists and birdwatchers alike. The wildlife and scenery gives travellers a reason to visit Grand Manan, but the charm of the island keeps them coming back.



Grand Manan offers a simple, easy-going life without the distractions of the city. Although we didn’t have a movie theatre, chain restaurants, or a shopping center, we survived with the goodness of what we had. Instead of video games and television, my brothers and I would often build camps in the woods, or explore our backyard. This sense of adventure that I developed on Grand Manan helped me to grow into the imaginative thinker that I am today. Many tourists relate to this mindset when they visit Grand Manan, which leads to many people buying summer homes and cottages to have a place to escape. There is nothing quite like the sound of the waves, or the birds singing no matter where you go.



Upon leaving Grand Manan, I often told myself I would leave home and never return, like the typical teenager. That is something to which I cannot live true, as moving away has only made me appreciate it more. I am going to visit Grand Manan very soon in April and May, and I want to relive all of the things I have written about here. I cannot wait to taste fresh scallops and dulse, and visit my neighbours who have loved me so much throughout the years. I am going to hike my favourite trails, and visit my favourite local cafes. I cannot wait to sit outside with a book and just breathe in the salty air. I’m going to visit my favourite beach and skip rocks in the ocean, and hike to the lighthouse that guards our shores. Grand Manan, to me and many others, is perfection. I cannot wait to go home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb