Alright, heres my travelblog


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
January 18th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flying across the world.


Hey, It's me, Cary!

I'm going to try and keep a running journal of my travels as I, and my beautiful, super awesome girlfriend Jenn, travel around south-east Asia.

Apologies if my poor grammar and spelling, and my rambling stream of conciousness writing style make this hard to read. If you really care, you'll tough it out, if not i'll tell you all about it when i get home.



We're leaving tuesday morning, headed for Vancouver, from there we fly across the pacific to Seoul, South Korea, and from there to Bangkok, Thailand.

This is not only my first international trip (other than a couple short jaunts into the states) but my first time flying on an airplane. I must admit i'm a little nervous, but I'm sure I'll get over it.

This is truly going to be an adventure, and despite the fact that i'm scouring the internet guidebooks and grilling all my friends who've gone this way, I'm sure I have no idea whats in store in the next couple months.


Preparing for this trip has been fairly smooth, getting my passport, jabs in the arm, insurance, etc. and I'm hoping this trend continues.


For our first few nights, we're booked at the happy house, a nice looking boutique hostel just on the edge of the backers district, kao san road. It got good reviews online and with any luck will be a good start to our journey. about 600 baht a night, which works out to 20 or so canadian dollars.

We're set to arrive in bangkok at 12:30 am, so it won't be as easy as hopping on a bus to our destination, but with some luck, we can get a non-tourist-robbing cab to take us without too much hassle. (this reminds me, I'm going to go write down the address of the hostel.)


One more day until we're off to paradise.

Advertisement



18th January 2010

soooo excited.
18th January 2010

Hey
Looking forward to seeing your pics and reading the stories. May that part of the world be your playground of adventure Carey..Be Safe and be a Good Hood Like a Good Hood should. Barry Bilko
18th January 2010

Safe travels
Much fun and safe travels.
20th January 2010

Tuesday has come and gone and now you're in Thailand! YAY! I hope you enjoyed your first flight...You know, you could have just flown someplace a little closer to Winnipeg to start yourself off and get familliar with the whole flying thing, right?! Ha ha! I'm sure your ridiculously long flight was fantastic! Looking forward to seeing your pictures and reading about all the cool stuff you guys get to do! (PS-I'm only a little bit jealous that you two are going to be roasting your lilly white asses off in 30 degree weather while we're stuck with winter. Only a little though.)

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.7kb