Muscles, Planes and Snow


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Patience is a virtue!

Muscle pain gone! Pinched nerves gone! South East Asia will have to put up with me after all. Thanks to an over zealous massage therapist and some good ole stretching I think my pulled hamstrings are back to almost normal.
For awhile, we were worried that this injury, that lasted two months, would never heal. We were both surprised when I woke up one morning to find most of the pain had disappeared. I owe a lot of it to Naproxin and Extra strength liquid gel Advils.

With the focus back on the trip, Candace and I have been trying to work out some minor details such as were we want to visit. Last year, I did a lot of the leg work and vowed that Candace needed to have more input. Well she wasted no time in correcting some trip planning errors I committed early on in the process.

I was unaware of how much the thought of flying alone bothered her.

Originally, I had planned to fly out a week ahead of her and go diving in the Similians on a live aboard. For Candace, having only 3 weeks off available to her and not being a diver or a water enthusiast for that matter, I felt it made little sense for her to sit on a boat all day while everyone else was diving. Live aboard trips usually consist of eat, dive, eat, dive, eat, dive, early to bed and the non-diver is usually left sitting up in the evening while everyone is clambering for bed.

My plans for a month in S.E.A. seemed to dwindle to 3 weeks instantly. Now it seems that I will get maybe 2 days of diving in which will consist of two day trips. I had originally planned to train/bus it down to the south to get some diving in and do it on the cheap. Now with only 3 weeks to accomplish all of this, we will probably have to use more domestic flights which throws the budget out of whack.

Part of me wants to still do a month while the other part of me understands Candace's concerns and wants to be there for her. Not sure how this one will play out yet but we're lucky we're getting to go back.

Once we work out our differences and lock down some places to go, we're going to book our tickets. It seems on Air Canada, the cost is around 3600.00 dollars. This up 800.00 dollars from last year. We're going to search around a bit and see if there are any better deals but this will probably be the way we go.

Today was the first bit of wet, sleet/snow we got in Winnipeg and the temperature is 3 degrees. Last night was so cold. I am longing to get back to the warm tropical nights. We spoke about retiring in a tropical area. Not sure how that would work but I'm going to see what hoops you would have to jump through. Of course, that is a long time away!

3 Months away........






Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.4kb