Another easy going day in Winnipeg


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
November 4th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day two in Toba
Another day in the Peg
Easy Peasy day.

I had a leisurely morning at the hostel since I made plans to meet up with Marnie, Brooke and Erin for lunch and they were going to be picking me up at the hostel at about 11:45. The thing is, once again I woke up super early this morning...6AM! I think with the time change on the weekend and then another one hour time change coming into Manitoba has really done something to my internal body clock. Must think it's 8AM. So I lay in bed for at least an hour listening to music before I fell back to sleep. When I woke up next it was about 9:30 which I thought was a decent time to be waking up.

I ate my raisin toast while reading the paper. There was an interesting story on evidence of Canadian moose being discovered in New Zealand. Something about back in the early 1900's they were "transplanting" deer and moose into New Zealand and do some things with the World's Ecosystem's and not really knowing any better. It was thought that none of the ten moose survived but there was this one guy who for the last thirty years has believed they are still out there in New Zealand. Some think of the Canadian moose in New Zealand being alive to be like the Ogopogo, Loch Ness Monster or the Abominable Snowman. But this guy has discovered two hairs that are from a moose. Hmm, two hairs? Perhaps it was just a Canadian hiker that had some moose hairs stuck to his shoes. haha. Anyhoo, reading the newspaper from front to back and also flipping through the endless flyers, the time just zoomed by. Before I knew it, it was 11:30!

It was nice seeing Marnie, Brooke and Erin again after such a long time. They took me to an excellent restaurant where I had an awesome burger with bacon, cheese and mushrooms. I haven't had a good burger in ages! We even indulged in some dessert. We all got something different and therefore got to try lots of yummy desserts! We got to try chocolate silk pie (super rich!), raspberry cheese cake, ten layer cinnamon cake (can't remember the name of this dessert but it was yummy.) and some pecan tart. They were all good. I was super stuffed after lunch so I decided after being dropped off I should go for a walk. I ended up walking back down Portage Street to do a little shopping and browsing. I was on the lookout for some glove liners for my mitts so I stopped off at MEC first before heading into the mall to warm up. I never was successful in finding some glove liners. Oh well!

Then it was back to the hostel after picking up some bottled water. I usually just drink tap water but the water in Winnipeg sort of has this earthy smell and taste to it that I just can't take anymore.

At the hostel I saw Shonae and we chatted for a bit before Laura joined us and then the two sisters from England, Melissa and Natalie joined us. Tom, from England was still at the hostel too. I thought he was going to catch the train to Jasper but it turned out that he had had enough travelling about and went out and bought himself a plane ticket to fly back to Toronto and then off to London. Melissa or Natalie mentioned that Tom had enough of travelling around and was also running out of money...Hmm, I guess even when earning $4000 a month as a courier that you can run out of money. haha

I ended up chatting with Melissa, Natalie, Shonae and Laura for ages until we started watching “AI - Artificial Intelligence”. Now that film really sucks! Too long and the plot isn't very good either. It felt like it just went one and on and on! BUT, I had to finish watching the film since I'd seen more than half of it. There was this one freaky yet amusing teddy bear that would deliver a few one liners every so often. Now I know why Laura walked away half way through the film and went to bed early. She'd seen it before and when she originally saw it in the theatre she almost walked out back then.

That's pretty much it for the day...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb