Preparing for the next Journey


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
April 29th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it looks like we have decided to travel again this year. This time it's going to be for only 3 weeks! Candace and I discussed the idea and both feel that we want to see some more of S.E. Asia. At this point, we figure that we will shoot for February and will make Laos and Cambodia the focus of our travels.
Lots of details need to be worked out and I'm also flirting with the idea of going over a week before and doing a dive trip. Candace seems to be warming up to the idea although she does not want to travel 25 hours by herself. I keep telling her, she'll be fine.
Of course it makes me wonder what situations I will encounter that I haven't thought about!?!
With every trip, there are plans
Like our last trip, I plan to do a lot of "studying" and try to work out an basic itinerary as we have such a limited time frame. We found this to be quite invaluable on our last trip as we knew what we wanted to accomplish and had all the info on how to do it. Some friends of mine felt that perhaps I was "planning" too much but then once they saw that it was more like a mini-guide book with all the needed info for each area we were going to, they too wished they had done the same thing.
I have to put a plug in for Tripit at this point. This website is awesome. It made my trip planning so much easier. We were able to make a comprehensive itinerary that we shared with our family so they would know what our journey entailed.
And with every trip comes the question of money.
After countless hours of deliberation, or was it minutes of defibrillations, I decided that to pay for this trip and not touch any of the countless dollars we have stuffed in our mattress by driving again. So I went and did a road test with the company I already work for and have committed to working a minimum of two extra days a month. Of course, this has led to more like 1 trip a week so I might actually be able to save enough money in half the time.
We started out travel blog early to keep track of our progress and once again to allow some friends and family a chance to join us on our adventure.
'Til we meet again!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb