A walk in the woods


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A walk in the woods

Tuesday, 31 July 2007

Yesterday we took a day off, slept in & just pretended we were “on vacation” as are most of the other people we see here. I took Panna for a walk down the road, looking at the cottages that line the shore, some of which are very nice. Later I went with her into the water, trying to get her to swim. She was a bit hesitant at first, but then saw a family of ducks (a mom & older babies), and then it was all I could do to hold her back! She was on her “flexi” leash, which gave her 15+ feet of freedom, but she wanted more! I’ve never seen her swim so eagerly - that is until the mother duck started charging at her!

Anyway, today we all took a walk in the woods. Bob & Panna were to go only about half the distance I did, about 5 km total for them, and I continued on, hoping to do a loop of about 10 kilometres. That was made pretty well impossible by at least one boggy stretch, as I’d decided to not wear my hiking boots. But I did see deer on two occasions, didn’t get photos of them, sorry, and fortunately I didn’t see any bears.

I had to continue my walk a little once I returned to the cabin, as I needed another kilometre, so I went around photographing some of the areas more interesting to me anyways.

By the way, Bob’s been doing the dinner cooking here, on a gas barbecue, - not at all what he’s accustomed to do - and he’s done a pretty good job too! Tomorrow we’re on the road again to Kenora, Ontario, back to the motel & restaurant grind.

DAY 35: On foot 10.5 km



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb