More about Powell River


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The pulp mill and meThe pulp mill and meThe pulp mill and me

This is the view from Valentine Mountain.
This morning was spent lazily on the deck over looking the lake finishing off Angels and Demons. It's already vacation in my head. After a fruit salad I grabbed the keys to the Jazz scooter and took the streets like the annoying toursit that I am.. I flew by houses and honked at the locals and waved happily as I motored along.
My first stop was Mount Valentine, I was pretty excited about this. I took the turn off and it took me down this small residential street and just when I thought I had come to a dead end it turned into a gravel road.... Ok.. no biggie... kept going and it started to curve up and there was one of those large yellow bars right in the way of the road with just enough room to walk through... or ahem.. (sorry sara) perhaps take a scooter up the mountain?? It wasn't too bad used my little dirt biking skills that I had and actually had a very smooth ride up till I arrived at this old stone sign proclaiming the name of the mountain and who had made the path.. I parked the scooter and looked up at these
MagicMagicMagic

Sara's wonderful dog.
stairs that looked like they were built by 17th century monks.. I kid you not, they were crazy huge STEEP mofos of stairs.. They never seemed to end, every stair reminded exactly HOW out of shape I am.. and also that I had muscles in my legs I had forgotten about.. Props to the peeps that can stay on stair masters for more than 10 mins.
But I kept telling myself.. this is going to be a great view.. it's called valentine mountain is it not?? THIS WILL be amazing.. climbing.. more climbing.... finally last stair!!! turn corner F*%K more stairs.. more climbing.. and than.. AHhhh I can see the ocean!! Pretty exciting.. and another step.. ohh.. I can see Texada Island and that other one.. Hmmm.. native island.. and another step and a BEAUTIFUL view.. breathing taking of....
*drum roll please*

THE PULP MILL!!!!!!!!!!

*audience goes wild*

Yuck... I than cursed the stairs.. but sat down for a while and tried to ignore the huge orange tube that was puking out clouds of white smoke.. enjoyed the dragonflies.. found another trail which lead me to a tiny view of Cranberry lake from a different spot.. turned
Death stairs from hellDeath stairs from hellDeath stairs from hell

I swear to god I thought I was going to kill myself on these.
around.. down the monk stair case and to the scooter where I was able to coast down the trail happily.


Stopped in at the old Grave yard.. some pretty old graves. Three stuck out.. all italian guys.. all died on the same day.. Powell River mofia anyone??

Got back home in one piece after venturing ALL over and almost ending up in a different town. and Sara and I took the dogs for a walk. After walkies we came home I drank 1/2 a cider and we were ou the door to the oldest running movie theater in Canada. The Patrica. Esablished in 1932 as a building, but was orginally a tent in 1913 that got blown down. Watched the new Pirates of the Caribbean.. it had a intermission.. WHO DOES THAT now adays..
OH and people were SHHHH-ing each other when the movie started.. both times.. It must be a P.R. thang..

Must get up early tomorrow and catch the bus at 645am.. twas fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

War shipsWar ships
War ships

These are old WWII ships that are used for the break water at one of the bays.
Sara and DonSara and Don
Sara and Don

My birthmum and her handsome hubby relaxing on the deck
Valentine mountainValentine mountain
Valentine mountain

This is what it looks like from below


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb