I'm back! So much has happened since last time!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 26th 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Moguls 1 week ago 19 secs
Hi Everyone,

Lets go back to the end of summer........

mid Oct

I ended up finishing my residency paperwork just intime before leaving to come back to Australia for 3 weeks in late October. It was a very large project in getting all the paperwork together that was asked for and going threw it all in detail so it all matched up. It is one of the hardest things mentally I've ever undertaken (other them my surgeries).

late Oct

I hopped on a Air Canada Flight to make a quick 3 week trip home to Australia in-between seasons. I arrived home on the Wednesday and was in no mood to be sociable after a 16 hr flight. I went to Cricket training on the thursday with ever intention of playing in a low grade. After much discussions Myself and Jas agreed to play 4th grade on the Saturday. This was my first game since my surgeries and Jas's first in a few years. As it happened Jas and I batted together at 4 and 5 and put on a good partnership with Mum and Dad on the boundry watching which hasn't happened since juniors.

On the Sunday I flew up to Brisbane to meetup with my good friend Jodie who I done the USA roadtrip with. Jodie was nice enough to pick me up at the airport. We had so much fun and done so many cool things in the 4 days i was there, I want to go back there at the end of this year seeing we only scratched the surface of things to do.

After coming back from Brisbane there was never much down time. I was always kept busy catching up with friends and family which was amazing. I even got to go camping with Peter and Sharna at Stockton beach at Newcastle which was amazing. Especially looking out to sea and seeing a lightning storm in full tilt.

In the end I ran out of time to meetup with everyone. Next time I'm home I will make a point in chasing down everyone else I didn't meetup with. It was great to come home for a holiday and see friends and family after a busy summer of work. My time home finished as quick as it started and before i knew it it was time to reboard a Air Canada flight back to Vancouver.

Mid Nov - Jan

After setting back into Whistler life in November the snow came quickly and before I knew it I was Skiing and working. I'm back working the 5 day, Mon-Fri, 5-12 year old kids program from Whistler Village and working Monday nights at the bakery. My goal from the start of the season is to get my CSIA level 3 Instructor which I've been training for for 3 years now. I feel this winter I'm capable of achieving it seeing I believe I have the right knowledge to put into my training.

Work was busy to start the winter off. I even got to teach my boyhood sporting idiols daughter. It was a privilage to Teach Holly and talk to Glenn on a 'one on one basis' everyday of that week. There such a lovely family too!

A few days before new years eve I recieved an email from Immigration Canada regarding my Residency application. I was refused Residency due to my qualifications not fitting what a Baker and Pastrycook does. And the letter from my employer at the bakery that currrently said I worked there needed to say I have (indefinite employment) rather then (I currently work there). RED TAPE at it's best!

Jodie come over to Canada for a week in late January which was great to see her and show her around were Dan and I had been talking about for over a year. After getting to lift from Barry to Vancouver in a large snow storm at night and staying at Barrys overnight which I was so thankful for I meet Jodie at YVR Airport the next morning. We stayed at the Fairmont waterfront in Vancouver which is close to most things and was such a privilage. It was wet and cold out, but that didn't stop us exploring Vancouver. We went to Granville Island to checkout the markets and caught a ferry from Granville Island to the science museum. We also spent a day riding bikes and having a pinic lunch in Stanley park along with other things. After a few days in Vancouver we got the Greyhound bus up to Whistler where i had to go back to work and it was Dan's time to catch up with Jodie. After a few days in whistler Dan and Jodie headed home via Vegas and Hawaii for a week at each.

Feb

Up to now the weather wise we have had an indifferent winter. Some decent size snow storms with lots of sun and warm temps just to thaw out all the beautiful snow.

Up to now I've had 3 weeks off work so I can train for my exams which has been nice. I've come to a point in my training where I need to Ski lots of steeps and lots of groomers fast, seeing training with fellow level 3 candidates days are tending to be non-productive in my learning. In one of the weeks I was lucky enough to Ski with a mate from a few seasons ago that was out on holidays for 2 weeks with is girlfriend. We Skied so hard that week and done some amazing runs we didn't want that week to end.

The past few days we have had around two feet of snow which is a welcome change and it's amazing what fresh snow can do to ones attitude

This coming week I'm having the week off my regular job. I will be only working 2 or 3 days seeing it's a quiet week which gives me the opportunity to go Ski hard and fast (how I like it).



Please enjoy my most recent photos and videos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb