Smithers to Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
October 12th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So this is the part where we split up for awhile so this blog with just be Dans travels. I headed out of Smithers/Telkwa area around 4 oclock and got about 180 miles to Vanderhoof before I froze my ass off. I took refuge in the woods beyond town. It rained ALL NIGHT LONG and my leaky tent and I paid the price. I ended up staying awake pretty much all night trying to avoid the water seeping in and leaking down. By morning, it was 40 degrees and I lay there in a catatonic state in a damp bag longing for the sun...which never came.
So I pack up and limp into Vanderhoof to dry out in a laundromat. Steering feels a little funny then next thing I know at 60 mph the back tire pops and Im in a sideskid with a tractor trailer passing the other way. I miraculously pulled out of it and got to the side of the road. Fortunately, a good samaritin named Tyler picked me up and took me to the motorcycle shop. Determined cause of failure..the Harley dealership in Smithers(who put my tire on the day before) used tire grease on the tube which caused the tube to slide inside the tire and break the valve stem. Thanks Harley, I will never step foot in one of your overpriced substandard quality shops again!!!($52 for a tire change and I brought them the wheel only with new tire!)Tyler also took me to his house to have lunch with his family, dry my stuff out and then he snuck down and paid my shop tab!!!!Thanks again, you really didnt have to do that!
So I get to Prince George and Im promptly propositioned by one of the lovely local street women. I have a few beers and go see Brian and Karen for a minute before getting a hotel and relaxing.
Next day Im getting ready and I get another offer from PGs finest before it starts hailing cats and dogs. Luckily, it soon passed and the warm sun came and I headed south for Williams Lake. It was a beautiful warm day and the riding was pleasant. I made it to Cache creek then on to Liloett where I camped for the night at a free(thats right free) campsite just outside of town.
Next morning starts out well as Im riding through big mountains and now the terrain seems a lot drier and rockier. Then comes the rain and I struggle into Pemberton just north of Whistler for a hot meal. I book a room at Alpine Lodge in Whistler and Im off again for the short ride to Whistler. Jeff, the owner, greets me and the place is nearly empty and i have this great room with a huge TV and fireplace all to myself!! Not to mention the hot tub and sauna!!All for 35 bucks a night. Best place Ive stayed so far!! Jeff and I talked a lot about my plan and about some of his exploits in Japan. He was the first guy to get the Rolling Stones and a bunch of other big bands to play in Japan!
So I holed up at the Alpine Lodge for 3 days. Ended up hiking the Rainbow Lake Trail and got some great pics. However, my favorite by far was the downhill mountain biking at Whistler. Its said to be some of the best downhill in the world with trails like A-Line, Crank It Up and Be Rude Not To. The ride was like nothing Id done before on a mt bike, intense and fast!!!
Next day, I packed it up, said goodbye to Jeff, and got back on the road to Vancouver.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb