New Job, other things, and some photos of me actually snowboarding!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
March 24th 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I started my new job a few weeks ago and since then I have been either working, snowboarding, out or sleeping which is the reason that I havent written about it yet!

Basically, most of the time I am working in a cafe in a hotel called Nita Lake Lodge. I get a few shifts in the restaurant but they tend to give most of the shifts to people who have worked there for a bit longer than I have.

I have discovered a bit of a talent for coffee making and have learnt to use an espresso machine which should be a good skill to have. It is a bit of an art and can be very satisfying when you make a good pattern in the milk!

I quite like working in a coffee shop. There isnt much stress and you pretty much get paid to be very english and pleasant to everybody who comes in. Having an english accent certainly helps when holidaying americans come to tipping! They love it!

I am learning to tread carefully around the chefs, they tend to be quite temperamental and resent the staff who are in customer service. I can see where they are coming from. They do work a lot harder and it does seem a lot more stressful than waiting.

I am currently living off tips and should hopefully make back some of the money that I spent when I wasnt working so I will have some money to go to university with!

Obviously working 4 days a week means that I get to snowboard a lot less than I used to but I try and go up as much as I can either before or after work depending on the shift that I am on. I have been fairly lucky that I have been on late shifts on a lot of the powder days that we have had so I have been able to go up for morning session with snowboard school and then go to work when it is all tracked out!

The snowboarding has been going well and having limited time off has given me a lot more motivation to go up whenever I get the opportunity. As you can see from the photo my locker is being used to its full potential for storing my snowboard gear.

Spring is really on its way now and the sunny days are becoming far more frequent. All the snow is starting to disappear around our house and im hoping to see a bear soon/before I leave, when they start to come out of hibernation.

The other photos are just a few of me actually on a snowboard and various ones from around the resort.

I am going down to Vancouver on the 31st to see the Canucks play a hockey match which im really excited about. It will be nice to get out of Whistler for a bit and see a bit of Vancouver. I will try and do a blog about it when I get back.

Hope everybody is going well and looking forward to the spring and the sunshine!

Lots of Love,

Laurie


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb