There is no argument where to Ski in the Pacific North West; it's Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
December 10th 2010
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi to Everyone where ever you maybe.
I'm currently living in a world where the language reads like; how was your turns today, Freezing level is at surface, there Bombing in the Alpine today, did you get any freshies and how fat are your skis under foot. All these saying's are 'day to day' expressions that describe how conditions of the snow are or is as simple as asking how was your day out Skiing. Snow is not measured in cm's, it's measured in feet in this town seeing it gives us a more realistic gage of how deep the snow is. It's a town where "every Skier and Boarder dreams of coming here and dreams of coming back. It's winter in Whistler!
Life is good over in the Snow and work has started in Ski School for me so all my buddys are back in town which it's so good to see them after being to long apart. I've been working on and off over the first two weeks of the season, but started this current week fulltime which is really great. I'm thoughly enjoying being back at work (which does'nt feel like work) and really enjoying encouraging kids to continue in this great sport. I've been skiing just about everyday and before this week I was doing lots of training to get me up to speed and even beyond my skiing ability last time I was here. Work is not busy yet but come next week numbers are going up at a strong rate seeing Christmas is just around the corner, which means there is not a spare bed in Whistler anywhere!
There is only about 1/3 of the runs open now which is normal at this time of the season. There is alot of Snow in the long range forecast which is great seeing as the days go on there will be more terrain opening by the day.
I've also got a second job on Sundays Guiding Yes Ski Improvement (which I done in 05). I'm doing a small amount of teaching and alot of guiding Adult guests around Whistler mountain, which I'm really enjoying. It's kind of a spin-out that I'm now Instructing the same program that I come up threw only a few years ago and people are now asking for my advise on the same kinda of things that I asked about (it's real job satisfaction).
Yesterday I finally got my new pair of Skis after a number of hassel's getting what I wanted. After being told twice that I couldn't get my first or 2nd choice of skis i wanted, I was lucky that one of my buddies was selling a second hand (basically new) pair of my first choice I orginally wanted which I snapped up straight away for half the cost I was originaly going to pay, so pretty happy about that.
We have just over 1.5 metres of snow on the ground with lots more in the forecast which is exciting. The local Council does a pretty good job of keeping the roads clear and open. There are large mounds of snow on the side of the road's and there is no sign of grass or dirt, which will be the case till early april.
As for temp's which I'm sure you are all eagerly awaiting for, we have had everything from -28 with a windchill of -55 - 0s in the alpine. Just for the record I didn't Ski on the -28 day, just the few days before where it was -15 to -22 which 'yes' it was pretty cold.
Until next time
Mark






Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb