Extra curricular activities


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
March 16th 2009
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

No, nothing smutty! I'm just talking about the two non-skiing snow based activities of this rather busy weekend...

First of all, tubing on Saturday night. For those of you who don't know, tubing is the term used to describe hurling oneself down an ice channel whilst sitting in an inflated inner tube. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves for the most part. I will say that the black diamond run was my favourite - especially going over the roller, at speed, backwards... Some of the others favoured the blue run where the attendant was treating everyone to the spinning treatment - not sure if you'll be able to access Jack's video to see the full effect!

On Sunday I treated myself to a snowmobile trip in the Callaghan with Canadian Snowmobile Adventures (thanks to Ian for putting me in touch with his friend Craig and the resulting locals discount!). Something I haven't done before but would definitely like to do again! A great way to spend a couple of hours 😊. There were 13 of us in all, split into 2 groups. My group was a family of 6 plus me! By a stroke of luck I ended up right behind our guide, Hazzard (apparently his real name but I'm not convinced) so ended up with more than my share of fresh powder. I think the biking experience helped and despite my lack of experience I was way ahead of the rest of the group most of the time even though one of them had snowmobiled a number of times before... But all good as Hazzard stopped to let them catch up fairly regularly, at which points he was encouraging me to go faster and keep up with him 😊 At one point I clocked 60kph and think I even managed to get some air but that's unconfirmed! I seem to have picked a good day overall, given the amount of snow that we had over Saturday night and Sunday - Hazzard reckoned it was the best conditions all season. Not much opportunity to take photos but hopefully these will give you a flavour...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Black diamondBlack diamond
Black diamond

Ooo... scary...
Target practiceTarget practice
Target practice

Throwing snowballs at Dave whilst he hurtled down
The courseThe course
The course

Black diamond on the right


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb