Vancouver * 21 - 22.03.2017


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
March 21st 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I flew from San Salvador to Mexico City. There I had to wait a couple of hours. Then I flew into Toronto, where I almost missed my flight because the man at the border check thought I needed a visitors VISA as well as a work permit and sent me to the immigration office where I had to wait for a very long time in the line. I would have missed my flight if it wasn't delayed and if I didn't ask the security at the luggage check to skip the (insanely long!) line. So just in time I got on the plane to Vancouver. Another 5 hours in the plane.

I didn't sleep at all, because.. I just can't sleep in airplanes. I just can't sit up straight and sleep. Even when I try, and I fall asleep briefly, I wake up with so much pain in my neck, that I don't even want to sleep. My sister told me to sleep on the little fold down table. I tried that too but.. no. So basically I was awake for over 24 hours straight.

In Vancouver I stayed with Nat, a friend that I actually met in Bacalar, Mexico. I had to wait for a little while before he was off work, so I strolled around the city with my backpack on. I bought some shoes for work and a sweater because I was cold. My body had to go through a big difference from hot and sweaty in El Salvador, to cold and clapping teeth in Canada.

When Nat finished wok, he picked me up from the centre. He realized that I was super tired, so when we got to his place, he said I could take a nap if I wanted. It was the best nap I had since a while! The mattress was nice and I didn't wake up because I was sweating my ass off. After my powernap, he showed me around Vancouver. We went to this hill from where you could see the city and later we went to English Bay Beach, where we saw a nice sunset.

Unfortunately I didn't have much more time to explore, because I had to get to Tofino for work, but it was really nice to meet up with a fellow traveler and to see a little bit of the city!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb