vancouver week 1 (of almost 5)


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

southwestern vancouver summer program

23may06-24june06

colorful moneycolorful moneycolorful money

here's canada's colorful monies.. the one dollar coin is called a looney and the $2 coin a tooney.. smart!
http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_1k4.html

greetings fr the vancouver airport (YVR)!!!

day 10 of my stay here in vancouver for a month-long law summer session at the University of British Columbia is spent at the airport desperately waiting to get home to my family.

Vancouver is beautiful. It's so lush and green. I've noticed the Canadians really do speak w/ that "eh!" it's so cute.

Anyway the first few days in Vancouver was bearable, but after feeling like I was about to have an anxiety attack yesterday (1june06) I booked a flight to go home to spend the weekend w/ my family.

I've met lots of wonderful people from the program. About half are from my school (Southwestern) and a bunch others are from other places like Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto in Canada, GA, MI, Lolyola Law in Los Angeles, and a bunch of other places.

It started raining when I got here last Tuesday and the weather is still uncooperative. I have never been alone in a foreign country by myself, and I thought I could tough it out, but I can't so I'm going home just for the weekend. Sorry to mom and dad for all their troubles
indian restaurant in gas townindian restaurant in gas townindian restaurant in gas town

from left: david, (sanjana), me, jennifer, spencer, diana, bari, and natasha
and especially the expenses, but thanks for all the suport from everyone. I'm no hero.

To begin with..

I got here 23may06 and met Diana, a student fr my school. We drove around getting lost until we finally got to campus. The studio apartment was clean and big. I brought my tv so I won't get too bored.

The next day the students fr the program were taken on a tour of downtown Vancouver. We stopped by Stanley Park and took pictures by the Totem Poles. I've noticed that they don't have too much sand on their beaches, and the water seemed real cold. We also stopped by Gas Town (?) and ate Indian food w/ some of the students fr the program. The food was awesome!!! I really enjoyed the Indian food.

School started Wednesday morning of last week. The classes were promising, but Urban Planning got to be really boring by the next few days. I'm enjoying the International Environmental Law class because I can recall some of the issues that I've learned as an undergrad at UCSD taking up Political Science, International Relations. I'm really looking forward to the Cultural Property Law next
downtown vancouverdowntown vancouverdowntown vancouver

downtown vancouver skyline from stanley park
week b/c Art Law is one of my top priorities.

Ros, JRhys, and Marlon stopped by UBC and we head out to a Thai restaurant in downtown. Too bad we didn't have that much time to kick it, but it was nice seeing her and the little one and also to finally meet her Marlon.

Anyway our self-proclaimed President, David, hosted a keg party at their quad. About twenty of the people fr the program attended. Thanks to El Presidente David and the guys for providing the drinks, Bari for the delicious pizza, and to Natasha for the music.

It's Friday, and I'm supposed to be eating lunch w/ the girls, but instead I'm here at YVR typing away while waiting for my plane to arrive. I can't wait to get home.. hopefully when I get back the weather will get better and I'll be able to enjoy the city more.




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

stanley parkstanley park
stanley park

totem poles
stanley parkstanley park
stanley park

me, natasha, diana, and bari
picnic at the rose gardenpicnic at the rose garden
picnic at the rose garden

bari, donna, me, kim, spencer, diana, and pam
koerner's pubkoerner's pub
koerner's pub

koerner's pub hosted by prof parrish and kushner w/ (L) diana, natasha, jamie, me, bari, and our president
bearbear
bear

art installations all over the city.. a bear wearing flip flops.. there's one that's dressed up as darth vader that i have yet to see
moosemoose
moose

at a gelateria in gas town w/ (L) david, natasha, and donna
ros and jrhysros and jrhys
ros and jrhys

ros and jrhys came up to vancouver on tuesday where i met ros's man, marlon, and we at at this fancy thai restaurant.. yummy!
homemade beer bonghomemade beer bong
homemade beer bong

chris, this is ingenious!!! bari drinking fr the beer bong!
the mighty kegthe mighty keg
the mighty keg

this one's for the vancouver summer program brochure for next year
keg standskeg stands
keg stands

el presidente doing the honors
keg standskeg stands
keg stands

chris making sure the shirt is tucked in
keg standskeg stands
keg stands

peter (canadian) taking his turn (2seconds)
keg standskeg stands
keg stands

gina, at almost 5secs, beat out all the guys! that's right, bitches!!!
beer bongbeer bong
beer bong

another one for bari
future lawyers of north america future lawyers of north america
future lawyers of north america

law students socializing except for that girl (yes girl) in the middle who came by to enjoy our company..
pizza!!!!pizza!!!!
pizza!!!!

thanks for the pizza, bari!!!
my keg standmy keg stand
my keg stand

i didn't even last a sec..


16th June 2006

keg
wheres your keg pictures? =)

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb