Canada, Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
August 24th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I didn't really plan on coming to Vancouver, it was actually a result of my ticket being changed from home via Hong Kong to home via the states. Basically due to the modern version of the Salem Witch trials going on in that country, with great fear and trembling, I refused to go there. Thus after much back and forth, mercy was bestowed upon me and I was permitted to return home via Canada a somewhat more civilised country.

Without dwelling on a repetitive theme, may I simply say Canada was great primary as I was hanging out with my good friend from tech and his truly amazing home professional chef wife. Needless to say the food and company was a life worth living.

Anyway, my friend and I paid a visit to Grouse Mountain to see the bears. I bring up this little excursion as per chance we saw this display of some of Canada's birds of prey and to me it was amazing. They had this Bald Eagle which was tame to the same degree as the old English Falconers, falcons. So it was captive, but permitted to fly around in the wild. When we first saw
GrizzliesGrizzliesGrizzlies

Not sure that fence would cut it, push come to shove.
it, it literally cruised past us like a large paper aeroplane about 5m away. it was very WoW.

It also brings up some interesting philosophical thoughts with regards to freedom and captivity. I believe that provided with sufficient shelter, food and entertainment, a number of entities... humans included will... perhaps unwittingly, choose captivity over freedom?

By the way, we also saw the bears, they were cool too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Bald EagleBald Eagle
Bald Eagle

Just very cool


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb