Hello from Vancouver...sorry its been so long!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys,

Sorry this email has been so long coming. I never knew time could fly by so fast, and now its August, how did that happen. I'm armed with pics this time too, so stand by for a mammoth news update.

So the winter in Lake Louise was epic. I think I totaled about 150 days of skiing over the winter which, I'm told, is pretty good going cnosidering I was working at least 5 days a week for the whole winter.
As it turned out I ended up working 3 day shifts and 2 night shifts a week which meant that I had 4 full days of skiing a week if I could handle it... most of the time tho my legs gave out by the end of the third day and could only manage a few runs on the 4th!
So we had some of the most amazing conditions possible over the winter. We had probably 5 or 6 days of truly amazing skiing in bottomless powder, feeling like your floating. Even the thought of it gets me excited!
I skied mostly with a small group of friends who all got really close over the winter and got to the stage where we all knew each others limits (if we had any) and we spent so many days charging round the hill looking for, and finding, the best snow!

So with warmer weather moving in and no snow forecast I decided that it was time to move on to new places. This was partly inspired by the fact that the majority of my friends were leaving and I wanted to leave with good memories of riding with them on top class snow instead of wet melty ice! eew!!

So with my last paycheck in hand I was off to Vancouver Island, where I had been assured that I would find a job and accommodation by loads of people.
"the island" as people call it is truly stunning. Its West coast is almost totally covered by rain forrest which is totally wild and full of animals with big claws and teeth that like to get too close for comfort.
I stayed in a small town called Tofino, which is the main tourist town. Unfortunately for me there were no jobs and even less places to stay. So i became a tourist for a week while i decided what to do for the summer.

By the end of the week money was running low and I had no where to stay so it was once again time to get back on the job hunt. I decided that the best and most likely place to get a job was "the big smoke" of Vancouver; Quite a huge difference from living inside national parks for the previous 6 months.

Ok, so thats part one...stay tuned for part 2, to follow shortly

xxx

Advertisement



6th August 2009

Can't believe it!
Can't believe you have actually posted a blog! You must be bored! Now I feel very ashamed that I haven't posted one in a few months so am about to go and fix that - mum will be delighted!
6th August 2009

ta
Thanks for doing this Aly, look forward to part 2 and the pictures Love Mum

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb