Quick side-trip to Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
September 7th 2006
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, since it's only a few miles north of Seattle, Loren and I decided to head up to B.C. I'd planned to go anyway, via Victoria which I thought was an island of its own accord but now I think it's just the bottom tip of Vancouver Island. Anyway, it's supposed to be very British with a promenade that would remind me of home, and ferries ran up there at 7am and I think mid-afternoon from Seattle. Thing is, my head was in no state for any seafaring on the due day of departure, and Loren said he'd drive the next day, so I plumped for that option. This of course meant another night out with the man in Seattle, where I managed to screw things up by not taking any ID out with me so we didnt get in half the bars. Ridiculous, I mean, I am THIRTY-SIX. I should take it as a compliment I suppose being accused of looking less than 21.

So the next day we take the high roads up through miles of pine forests and wend our way - once out of the mire of Friday-night motorway traffic around Seattle - to the bright lights of Vancouver. The plan was to rendez-vous with a couple of the guys Loren knew already and I'd met earlier in the week at his mate's restaurant.







Van is full of swanky appartments, some of which even have trees growing on them











We did locate Loren's mate and some of his girlfriend's pals, but I seem to have misplaced photos from that boozy night out. Indeed, the place does have several areas for pubbing or clubbing, but to be honest, I could have been anywhere. The walk around town the next day though went some way to curing my hangover, taking me to English Bay which is where the appartment block with the tree on it was. In this bay you can just sit and stare at the waves on strategically placed logs:













There's some little island too that you catch these little circular boats over to, if you dont want to walk the long way around. It's a bit of a cultural centre and I caught some festival there and took in a comedy show. Ah yes, it's called Granville Island:






Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb