Crunch


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided yesterday that I needed to get out somewhere a little wilder than the boulevard to release all the pent up frustrations from my retail experience, so I rode out to Lynn canyon park for a jog.

I went for a slightly challenging trail run along the Bayden Powell track, and took a lot of photo’s, more, I think as an excuse to stop and take my breath than anything else. The forest and the river were absolutely stunning though and totally revived my spirit.

I couldn’t help looking in awe at the way the sun caught the moss around branches, roots and rocks and made everything glow. It was amazing. Pine forests are so much more beautiful in their native environments than the Australian state forest versions.

Not long after I took the photo of the moss, I was still totally captivated by the glowing forest, while running a little too fast down a steep hill with a lot of rocks and tree roots sticking out… then crunch, crack and I was tumbling down. At least I am good at hitting the ground well - from all that horse riding in my formative years. But the result is a sprained ankle. So no work today, and no climbing tomorrow, which is soooooooooooo frustrating because we were eyeing off a big ten pitch route on the Chief. Arrrrggghhh. Patience. Patience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

cool plantscool plants
cool plants

I love these plants. They look like they belong in a cartoon.


13th May 2007

Teleport the wobbleboard
Ah if only I could teleport the wobbleboard to you Dans. Norm and I have been using it while I'm on phone for balance and exercise strengthening. For those not used to our family lingo. "teleport' refer to Star trek and before that Blakes Seven and probably elsewhere as well. And the wobbleboard is our family nickname for our Ankle Injury Rehabilitation Device.
15th May 2007

ratz
Goddam moss, doesnt it know when to be slippery and when not.. The Chief aint going anywhere, but i feel for your frustration. Craft it up instead chicca. x
16th May 2007

bayden powell?
was bayden powell the guy that founded scouts? i wonder what significance he has to that track and that part of the world more generally... (apart from causing injuries!). sorry to hear about the ankle, but that forest looks AMAZING, was it worth it? (almost)?
16th May 2007

bayden powell
yeah - he was the guy that started the scouts. Actually, I think I spelt it incorrectly - should it be Baden Powell? - and, I don't know what significance he has in this part of the world. Good question - 'cause I thought he was British. mmm... actually, I know very little about him. tehehe. And yes, the run was worth it - my ankle is mostly better now. xx
17th May 2007

Catching up
It's been a while since I checked in on your blog, so it's been very interesting reading what you've been up to. You're right about it getting cooler here, but not that cool - still no frosts and temps in the high teens and low twenties! No rain either, stage 4 restrictions (no watering with tap water) looming. They're now saying it might rain tonight though. Yay for working in retail, but sorry it doesn't pay. Miss you here.
17th May 2007

heya
Hey Clare! Yeah - I have been meaning to drop you a line for a while. Life just gets away sometimes. Thanks for dropping in! So, sounds like your cooling down has not passed over with our 'warming up' yet. tehehe. We are still hovering around mid-teens ;-) No water though, huh? sigh. Wish I could send some over from here.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb