As Rafiki says, “It is time”


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » YVR
June 3rd 2015
Published: June 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Moon and mountainsMoon and mountainsMoon and mountains

Beautiful last morning in Boulder
Ohmygodohmygodohmygod. Guys, I will be out of the country for a year starting today. This is crazy. Gah! The nervous anxiety started last night after I got ready for bed, and between that and an early morning flight, I got very little sleep last night. I still can't really believe this is happening!

I am currently sitting in the Vancouver airport, waiting for the plane that will take me to Korea. I've never been to this airport before, but seriously this is the nicest airport I've ever been in. It feels more like a giant (super fancy) hotel than an airport, to be honest, which is REALLY weird. Not even kidding, there is a freaking POND in the middle of the airport (like in the shopping courtyard. Btw, the courtyard is comprised mostly of duty free shops. I've passed at least four different ones...)

In addition, I'm pretty sure the part I'm in is for specifically Asian flights, based off the fact that all of the flights on the monitor are to various major Asian cities. Also, all of the signs are in both English and Chinese. I suppose it's something I will get used to pretty quickly,
Family selfieFamily selfieFamily selfie

The whole family (minus George, of course) came to see me off!
but it is so weird to be part of the large majority, race-wise. Most of the people walking around are Asian, and it's only every now and then that I will see a Caucasian person. Super weird, especially coming from Boulder, which is very white.

Even though I'm crazy excited to begin my adventure (and to bum around with Tanya for two weeks... in Korea) it was kind of difficult leaving home, especially since I won't see the family until December. Too much exposure and they drive me up a wall, but still, they're family. Also George. I won't see him until May of next year, which is so far away! And he doesn't even know... this morning he was getting irritated with all of the hugs I was giving him. He kept flicking his ears and glaring at me... oh well.

Anyways, I really am excited; getting to explore Asia is going to be super fun. Plus Asian food is delicious. (Also if we take this airport to be any indication, there will be lots of Asian kids running around, and we all know that Asian children are the cutest.) However, I cant help but to be
AirportAirportAirport

Beautiful Vancouver airport
a bit nervous because besides being in a different country without my parents, I know that the language barriers and the process of improving my Chinese skills is going to be frustrating (but very rewarding, in the end).

That's about all for now, and a HUGE shout out/thank you to my parents who have given me the opportunity to do this. I'm crazy thankful that they've been so supportive and excited about all of this. Anyways, bye for now, and next time I talk to you, I will be in Korea! O_O

Advertisement



6th June 2015

Very Exciting
Katie, This is very exciting. You are very brave to go off for an entire year.
6th June 2015

Good for You!
Katie, Can't wait hear about your experiences in Korea! I've wanted to go there for a long time and have had a number of students at BHS from there.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb