I went to the snow


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, so it's been 2 days since my last entry, what have I been up too??? Where to start?
Yesterday, I did the Hop On, Hop Off tour, only to get down the street and find I had left my camera back in my hotel room. Couldn't believe it. Anyway, continued on with the tour taking everything in, I knew that I'd beable to get photo's later on, my pass was for 2 days afterall. So, I was taken all over Vancouver, heading down Robson St, the main shopping street here then down to BC Place Stadium which is where the football is played, unfortunatly, it was closed as I found out today when I walked for ages trying to find a way inside lol. Anyway, we then headed through China town and Gastown, which I'm hoping to go there for dinner one night, along the harbour, then went back through the city out to Kitsilano and Granville Islands, back into the city again and made our way down to the westend, unlike London though, the West End here is Stanley Park. We had a little bit of a look around there then finally headed back to the hotel after an hour and a half.

So I ran up to my room and collected my camera, it was just about lunchtime, so I headed to a cafe for a sandwich, then thought I'd just walk to Stanely Park, as it was quite close, but then I passed a couple of shops that hired out bikes, after a little bit of to and fro in my head, trying to talk myself into doing it, I finally hired one and rode a bike for the first time in about 6 years and guess what? I didn't fall off this time : ) I was quite proud of myself. I followed the path for a little bit along the harbour, then rode in around the middle of the park, I still had plenty of time with the bike so I decided to keep riding, I got back onto the path at the harbour and rode the 8kms around the outside of the park, and I found out that Canada has been doing alot of design stealing of different cities bridges, there's a bridge called Lions Gate Bridge, which is a replica of the Golden Gate in San Francisco, then there's the Burrard Bridge which is a very small replica of our Sydney Harbour Bridge. I also remember seeing a bridge the other day on the train on my way here that reminded me of the West Gate Bridge in Melbourne. lol. Anyway, back to my bike ride, after 2 hours of riding and stopping for photo's and riding again, I finally reached English Bay Beach (which isn't really a beach mind you) and headed back to the hire place. Afer getting off the bike for the last time, I realised that my ass was really sore and thought that it'd probably be sore for the next couple of days, (why did I do it lol).

After getting back to my hotel room, I called Mum for the first time using Skype, whoever thought of skype was a genius. After talking to Mum for half an hour and to Adam and Troy for another 2 mins or so, I had a shower and went upstairs to the revolving restaurant. As I sat down at the table, a wine glass fell off onto the floor and broke, can something actually go right for me for once??? lol. Anyway, the lady moved me to another table and I ordered a cocktail called Emerald Empire, it sound really nice with vodka, midori, pinapple and orange juice in it, it would've been so nice too, if only it wasn't so strong. For my meal, I ordered linguine pasta with prawns and scallops, sounded nice. When the waiter put it down in front of me, it was piled with scallops, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, capsicum, eggpland, prawns and I think it was witlof. One bite into it and I was in heaven, it was the best seafood linguine ever, which for the price, it would've wanted to be good. So by 1830, I was finished and had to get to the Vogue Theater about 5 blocks away for Burn The Floor and 1900, mmm TAXI!!! Once I found my seat I started talking to a couple next to me, they were older and had seen the show before. All of the dances in the show were amazing, how they can do all the steps so quickly and throw themselves around, it's crazy. But one awesome show, that's for sure. As it was opening night, the producer and dancers came out for a Q&A session, so I stayed for
Cool StatuesCool StatuesCool Statues

I have no idea what these were, but they were really cool
that and also got talking to the 2 girls sitting next to me. After the Q&A, I suggested a drink, so we headed to an Irish pub just down from the theater, where I tried my first Canadian beer, Canada Molson, my verdict??? Well, I've tasted worse, but have definatly had better, we stayed there for about half an hour talking and just had one drink each, Jody and Jamie had to work the next day. After heading back to the main street, we all swap phone numbers and went our seperate ways. Yeh, I made 2 new friends : )

Today, I decided to sleep in, didn't realise I'd actually sleep til 1100. I got myself ready and downstairs to board the hop on, hop off. Must've just missed it, I had to wait about 25 mins for it. I could've walked. So I got off at the waterfront stop to board the Seabus across to North Vancouver, it was about a 10min trip across, it was nice. I then board the public bus for the first time, not that big of a thrill lol. We then made our way up towards Grouse Mountain. I boarded the skytram
InukshakInukshakInukshak

I think I spelt it wrong lol
and took the ride up to the top of the mountain, about 8mins later, I was at the top and the view was spectacular. I couldn't believe how much snow was still up there, enough for so many people to still be skiing and enought for me to step in the wrong spot and sink into the snow about 30cm. I spent a good hour up there trekking around in the snow and almost slidding on my butt, I bought the first of my souviners as I wasn't sure if I'd make it back up there, hopefully I will though. I eventually made my way back down to the bottom and back across the harbour to downtown.

I decided to walk back into the city, I wanted to go and have a look at the football stadium, so I made my way down there, had a look at a memorial, then walked to where the entry was, but it was blocked off, so I turned around and headed back to the memorial hoping I could get in there, no luck, I then headed back passed the entry up to the next road hoping I could find another way, I found myself on top of a highway. CRAP!!! There goes that idea of having look at the stadium. It was starting to late so I thought I'd try and find somewhere to eat. I ordered a club sandwich which came with the soup of the day, creme of potato and bacon, quite nice. I also tried my second local beer, Granville Winter Ale. It kinda had a vanilla flavour to it, I don't think I liked that much. I was gonna have dessert, but then I saw what was on the menu, I topped it all off with Bailey's Cheesecake. It was soooo good. Mmmmmm.

I slowly made my way back to the hotel and have been on the net ever since. I need to pack up my stuff as I move to the hostel tomorrow, so I think I'll be doing that when I'm finished here. So enjoy the pictures and read and I'll talk to you soon, kisses to everyone.xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Me and the MountainMe and the Mountain
Me and the Mountain

Only 7 degrees and I didn't need my jacket on


Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb