Thanksgiving and goodbyes


Advertisement
Published: November 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Brian, Barb, Marilyn, Richrd, Jono and IBrian, Barb, Marilyn, Richrd, Jono and IBrian, Barb, Marilyn, Richrd, Jono and I

I couldn't help sticking my tongue out - I'd been so good all night!
Jono’s parents have left us, and the rain, for Hawaii. Oh, Hawaii - such a distant memory already. Sun, warmth, ocean, wildness, volcanoes, beauty, tackiness, Americana tourism, spam and fake fingernails…

We managed to squeeze in a Canadian-style Thanksgiving dinner (with Bar, Brian and Heather) before they left us. Marilyn even made her own cranberry sauce with fresh cranberries!.

As always, I was sad when Marilyn and Richard left. I don’t like people leaving. Our friend Damo who was here for a couple of months left the day after Jono’s parents as well to compound it all, so now its just Jono and me and the rain. Rain rain rain. If only we could divert some of it over to Australia. On the note of leaving though, I do a lot of leaving myself, so it is only fair that I get left sometimes, I guess!

We are physiologically preparing ourselves for the winter ahead now, like a couple of bears ready to hibernate, but instead of hibernating we are creating things to keep excited about. We have joined the climbing gym so we can get all strong for next summer, talking about skiing… and we bought our tickets for South America! Yay!!!! We will be flying out of rainy cold Vancouver on Feb 2 and coming back to Vancouver early August, where we will fly home from, either straight away, or after we have done a little more exploring of Canada



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Marilyn, Richard, Jono and IMarilyn, Richard, Jono and I
Marilyn, Richard, Jono and I

eating the cake that Marilyn and Richard bought us for our engagement. It was sooooooooo good (and it did not last for long!)


26th November 2007

reminder of happy family times around a celebratin table
Aaah how wonderful to see you all sitting around that table enjoying each other's company and enjoying fine food and drink. Reminds me of when we were all sitting around with you at the same table when we visited you in Vancouver sharing the local fresh salmon and berries. We'll have to a skype video cross to you when we have our Xmas day gather around at the Vincentia table. No that won't work. We don't have internet there and also day is night and night is day for us. So maybe we'll have some big pictures of you both at the table and be thinking of you.
31st January 2008

Wait a minute...
...you guys are engaged?! When? I must have been in Serbia - literally! Well big fat congratulations from me and Nick! Sorry I missed the news when it was fresh! Enjoy South America and say Hi to those big heads on Easter Is for me, if you get there! (I don't think you're allowed to climb them!) Keep in touch!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 74; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb