Vancouver Island 2012


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I've decided to try a holiday blog for my Canadian trip. I'll just catch up on the first couple of days.

I stayed up too late watching the Olympic opening ceremony and had little sleep before I flew from Gatwick to Vancouver. Air Transat was ok and was glad of the seat upgrade even though I can never sleep on a plane. Arrived on time but immigration took an hour. 7 positions out of 20 were shut. Before people complain too much about getting through our airports they should look at what happens in other countries.

Anyway transfer to Tswassenn Ferry terminal was by train and bus, no problems except whilst waiting at the bus station I identified the pikey Clampett family waiting to board my bus. Of course when I got on the bus I had a Dave Derrick moment, they came and sat all round me. "you're not from round here are you feller?" was the opening gambit from old Ma Clampett. I pretended to be Russian with no English, it seemed to work and they left me alone!

Ferry trip was good in flat calm with clear blue skies. 38 NM to Nanaimo, 2 hours. Very pleased to see Larry waiting for me. Port Alberni is 89 miles-90 minutes drive through some lovely scenery. Great to see Judy waiting at the house which is fantastic and twice the size it looks in photos. Larry has done so much work finishing the basement apartment which mirrors the footprint of the main house - 2 good bedrooms, a huge kitchen/diner/lounge, bathroom and media room. Independent access from the rear of the house means it'll be suitable for seasonal rents.

After an early night (I was cream crackered) I was awake at 4.30am! L&J were very understanding. A relaxed morning was followed by a great afternoon out on the boat on Sproat Lake gazing at the million $ lakefront homes, some with seaplanes in their garages/hangars! Good company and cold beer on the lake in the sunshine, followed by AAA grade steaks - YES! Needless to say I slept properly last night.

A trip into Port Alberni for shopping and to put me on the car insurance this morning. The agent didn't even take my name or check my driving licence and I'll get most of my £100 back when I leave, result!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



31st July 2012

Nice one
Glad to see you haven't lost your touch when dealing with Scrotes those sort get everywhere. Looks like an amazing place which it is always described as in all the travel guides. Raining here in Bristol so you are not missing much.Regards from all your chums in the office. All the best. Pete.
31st July 2012

Mike's Hols Page
Great start Mike. Don't forget you may be included in the overweight baggage allowance on the way back!!! Eat, drink and enjoy. Andy

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb