Day 26


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today has had its share of ups and downs shall we say.
It started off with a suprisingly bright start and the sun even rose and shone through the gap between the horizin and the clouds for a few minuites. After that the clouds started looming ominously and it was time to get things underway. Along the way, in preparation for rain, I have bought some white bin bags to aid in the waterproofness of my panniers. And so they were put over the top to make my bike look great!
It was then that I realised my tyre had gone flat again overnight, and upon trying to pump it up discovered that my pump had died…not good.
So with little options I walked around the town until I found a mechanic, fixed the hole, then borrowed his air compressor to pump my tyre. Finaly I was under way.
Today was to be in two halves, firstly a dash to Port Angeles where I would get the ferry to Victoria, then I would have to navigate my way through the city to some kind of camp spot for my final night in my tent.
The first 50km or so went by
PA130051PA130051PA130051

The rain i was running from
ok, and then as I was having a break the wind started to blow from the East. This gave me a 20mph tail wind all the way to Port Angeles and I was cruising at around 50km/h on the flat most of the way there.
I arrived at the ferry terminal at around 1.30 to find there was a 2pm sailing, perfect, and I was off to Victoria.
So I managed to navigate my way onto Highway 1 and out of the city and there was a campsite signposted, what a total result. I didn think it would be that easy.
By this time however, it was 6pm and started getting dark so it was dinner by head torch and a much needed shower.
The stats are:

Ride time - 4:18:49
Average speed - 25.3km/h
Max speed - 57.0km/h (set on the flat)
Distance - 109.23km
Trip distance - 2501.69km getting close now!

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

PA130065PA130065
PA130065

hmm much wind!


Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb