Day 24


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Port Angeles
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was unable to write last night, so I am now writing this for today and yesterday.
I awoke with a smile on my face and decided that it was going to be a good day, and after I had packed up all my things the sun had decided to come out and was shining. Despite this it was still quite cold.
The day was going great and I was cycling along some lovely open sea lochs which reminded me quite a lot of home. There wasn much breeze either which was great. I had decided to see how the day went and that when I had had enough I would look for a camp spot for the night.
After about an hour and a half I met a guy riding south. He was a bout 70 and promptly told me that it was definitely going to rain on Tuesday and that he was peddling as far as he could south to get away from it. He had done 95 miles the previous day.
That got me thinking, so out came the map. I started counting days and miles (and converting them to kilometers using some great mathematical wizardry) and decided that if I really went for it that I could get to Port Angeles in two big days and a half day, then one big day back to Vancouver. That would mean 1 1/2 days in the rain instead of maybe three. That’s a winning combination in my books and so here I am nearly 300km later in the north of Washington with one and a half days left!
The ride over the last few days has been through forests, along the shores of sea lochs, over wooded mountains, up some valleys. All very nice to see but not so epic as the views from the bike have been.
Last night I camped in a small wood between a highway and a field among trees and bushes. Despite being so close to the road I did manage to get a pretty good sleep considering. I did wake up at one stage though to the howls and cries of what I think were coyotes which was a bit scary and I had animals sniffing around my tent all night.
Im back on a campsite tonight. Not one of the fancy ones, this one doesn have a flushing toilet or sinks. Real "rustic" feeling. But its doing the job great. At this stage all Im interested in is somewhere flat to lay down and crash out before the "short" 80km ride to the ferry tomorrow then who knows where Ill be tomorrow night, still working on that!
My rear tyre has developed a slow puncture which is really annoying and being so far from anywhere I can get a new tube. Ive tried finding the leak but its near impossible without a sink full of water to trace bubbles so Im pumping my tyre up every couple of hours to keep pressure.

Anyway the stats from the last two days look llike this:

Yesterday (day 24):

Ride time - 5:58:16
Average speed - 23.5km/h
Max speed - 49.0km/h
Distance - 139.71km
Trip distance - 2251.09km

Today (day 25):

Ride time - 6:21:01
Average speed - 22.3km/h
Max speed - 47.5km/h
Distance - 141.35km
Trip distance - 2392.45km

Distance in the last two days - 281.06km

Aly x


Advertisement



17th October 2009

tent
Hello Aly, Looks like a Hubba Hubba tent you e using. I have bought one and haven used it yet. How do you rate it? Any problems or adjustments you could comment on? Thanks, Brian

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb