Only four days left!


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I attempted packing again today but did not find much success. Even though I've sorted some more things, I still only have one box put away for storage. It is a little bit intense for me considering that I'm packing away everything except for a travel backpack worth of things. I also don't want to have a lot of possessions lying around in boxes. So... some tough decisions must be made.

What also has me a bit stressed is that this is my first time travelling out of the country since I was 12. Basically I've never left the continent and now I'm doing it all on my own. I'm going to New Zealand for a year on a Working Holiday Visa and I don’t have any plans other than to go where the wind takes me. I try to keep in mind though, that no matter what, everything will turn out okay.

Advertisement



30th October 2006

So happy for you!!
I'm so glad you're going to New Zealand!! I'm going to live vicariously through your blog for the next year! You're going to have so much fun. Only tips I can give: you really don't need as much clothing as you thought you did (or I didn't... I packed too many shirts), you'll probably have to buy an extra bag to bring home all of your souvenirs at the end, money slips through your fingers like water, but working in a foreign country is an adventure so it's not so bad, you'll meet the most awesome people ever, and driving on the other side is especially scary in New Zealand because of the super narrow windy roads with speed limits waaaaay higher than you could ever safely reach (100 on a highways is normal... but not when it's all jackknife turns through the hills/mountains). And go swimming with the dusky dolphins. It's pricey, but sooo worth it. And make sure it's that kind of dolphins because they're the ones that swim in huge groups of 100 or more, so you'll get much more out of it than if it was a smaller pod type. Oh, and bungy jumping isn't totally necessary. It's kind of the thing to do in New Zealand, but it's scary as hell. But an experience. Anyways, that's all I have to tell you. Go make some awesome memories!!! Wish I was there!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb