Victoria, Without the Tourists


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I went to university in Victoria, so the city is tied to some very happy memories. That being said, I’ve never been fond of Victoria’s more English then England branding. Most people, however, love it and Victoria attracts tourists by the charter - air conditioned - coach load.

I am a museum junky, however, so the Royal BC Museum has drawn me back again and again. There’s the current ‘Treasures from the British Museum’ exhibition that highlights (raids on) ancient cultures throughout the world. A lot of the artifacts are copies, and I’ve been told that it doesn’t hold up against the actual British Museum. Until I can make it that far, it will have to do.

But, the real treasure is the kid (of any age) friendly permanent exhibitions. Their displays allow closer inspections and better yet, room to run around and make noise. The later is probably due to the current drop in tourism; I’m sure making silly noises in the echo area of the wildlife exhibit would be discouraged in a full museum.

And the lack of tourists made for a fabulous trip (in mid July ’09). There were no line ups or waits for the ferries (we didn’t travel on Friday or Sunday), at the tourist attractions (Royal BC Museum & Legislative Assembly Buildings), and to get a patio table for lunch on a sunny day. And there were no crowds to maneuver through while strolling the inner harbor, getting a closer look at a museum display, or taking an unobstructed picture.

While I hope that the slump in tourism and underlying recession don’t last long, this was my best Victoria experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb