Lee in Canada - Brrrrr


Advertisement
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Howdy ho! I am currently chilling in Canada at the moment with me old mucker Kirsta, but there's something missing....It's Edina, she's in San Francisco at the moment, or Sacramento to be more precise, with her friend Tori.

We're on the final leg of our tour, and are back to London in 7 days. I don't know what the weather is like there in London but it's bloody freezing here! I arrived here on Sunday 18th November, and stayed in Vancouver with kirsta's friend Shelagh for two days. We drove around Vancouver to see the sites but the weather was pretty bad and there wasn't much that was visible. Thankfully it was better the next day as we trotted up to Whistler. We didn't Ski as there isn't enough snow here yet and not many places are open because of this. We took in the village though and it was pretty cool - I can totally imagine the place being packed during the in season.

We came home from Whistler later that night and drove to Seattle (3 hour drive). We had a lot of Sh*t from the border control (just cos they're Americans and have attitude). We were stopped and asked to pull over and go in to answer questions etc. The guy asks me why I am going to the US and was suspicious as I'd just flown into Canada from San Francisco 2 days earlier. I explained that I had travel documents outlining my entire trip so he says go get it. Upon walking out back to the car (leaving Kirsta inside), the guards shouted where are you going? I expliained the above, that the guy wanrted to see my travel documents and they started saying NO!! NO!! You're not going anywhere and started jumping in front of me, like I'm gonna get in the car and drive off - leaving Kirsta (the driver) sitting inside the border control? Yep I'd be untraceable from there wouldn't I?! The numbnuts!!! Anyway I go back to the guy inside and explain the erratic behaviour of the idiots outside and that they want a bloody orange slip or I can't go back to the car. He shakes his head, writes travel docs on an orange slip and says, "See if they understand written english". He was livid!!! I got the docs eventually then he asks me how I managed to travel to so many places around the world and get time off (sarcastically like I have something to hide). He asks me the same questions about 4 times then after a total of about 30 mins we are on our way.

1) Where do you live?
2) What do I do in London? When I answered nothing much really he didn't seem to understand, so I explained that I work in FOCUS and he nods in agreement.
3) Do you have any resume's or business cards?

We arrived to Seattle late that night, no thanks to the idiots at the border and settled just 5 minutes outside. We went into the City next morning and walked around for about 10 hours. It was tiring but well worth it. The City is nice, there isn't a hell of a lot of stuff to do but pretty and exciting Market (Pike place). Coming back into Canada was a piece of P*** - 1 Question, are you bringing anything into Canada from the US that is to be used? We said no she say's OK off you pop - Sweet!

Been in Victoria at Kirsta'a place since last night and today we went for a 3 hour bike ride. It's a beautiful place, but bloody freezing!!!!! We did the tour of Vic and there are some nice places for the people that have money. Great place to be and loving it. Cooked a Vege Lasagna tonight for K and she seemed to like it but she could have just been polite I guess - Come to think of it she did leave a little while after saying she had to go somewhere....mmmm I wonder!

Anyways peeps, hope you enjoyed the moaning. Sounds like I'm fit to return to England where I'll fit right back in with you moany lot.

Right well that's it for now, I'll try and update ya before I'm back, alternatively I'll update ya all in person. I must apologize in advance for the way I speak. After spending time in Spanish speaking countries and other English speaking countries that haven't quite got the hang of pronouncing our words properly, bless, I'll be a complete mess and on more than one occasion have struggled to think straight (although I guess you'll all be used to that so prob won't know the difference).

Peace out!!!

Lee
x



Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb