Bear Country


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’ve just ditched an idyic life in the BVI’s to live in one of the last undeveloped nature reserves on earth. The Bedwell Outpost is home to some of the wild and pristine nature in Northwest British Columbia. It is a biosphear Located 18 miles north of Tofino, in the Clayquot Wilderness, I feel I’m as remote as one can get.

BEARS, BEARS, and MORE BEARS

On my first day here, I am given a tour of the Clayquot Wilderness Retreat (www.wildretreat.com) and soon realized that I need not go further than the camp’s back yard to see black bears! Within my first hour there, I see two male black bears!! I can not believe how chilled out are, just grazing away on the lush green grass that is meant for the many horses living and working (giving horse back rides) on property.

THE BEARS ARE DOSILE

While the bears are in mid graze, two of more than fifteen dogs living on property bark at them in attempt to save us. These bears live in the forest near the camp of nearly fifty employees, coming out to feed all day, waiting for berries to get ripe, where I’m sure they’ll move next.
It all seems surreal how blasé the more than fifty staff members are while sharing living quarters with these bears, yet I can feel my apprehension quickly ease as I watch these beautifully dosile and sloth-like creatures move around. I am also surprised how brown their hind quarters are. Is this like some weird kind of tan, I wonder.

Another time I walk nearby the other of the two bears grazing away on some wild flowers. He looks up in mid chew staring at me, as I zoom the cannon in and take the shot. When he does not discontinue his gaze, I move briskly onwards.

THE CUBS GET CURIOUS:

In spite of this, bears are creatures known for their unpredictability. I am given a bear horn, or air horn just in case a bear crashes through my tent.
About three weeks after I was given my horn, a few curious male cubs decided to investigate both staff and guest tents. Over five of them have been running around putting thier paws under the zippers and charging tents. One staff member, Nick rigged up a booby trap outside his tent; three stones on top of a two by four, and a can of sorts so that when the bear tried to come through his tent again, it would be surprised and scared off. The management has pepper sprayed them, and next some small harmless pellets will be shot in thier bum, if they continue. So far the pepper spray seems to be working well.

COUGAR:

Yesterday a cougar was spotted near the camp. We are living on first nations land here, or next to it, so it is culturally sensitive issue to shoot a bear. The management cannot just shoot an animal, like our anscestors did when they settled back in the 1800's. This is an eco retreat after all. At times I'm afraid to be here, sleeping with one eye open at times, but then I realize it could be the adventure of a lifetime, and it's just getting good!


Advertisement



16th July 2008

photos?
Hi this is Dena here, commenting on my own story.. I tried to upload a few photos, but the internet server was so weak, it didn't go thorugh.. I'm still trying to figure out how to edit it so i can add a photo from a faster server, sorry! D

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb