"It reminds me of home"


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Nanaimo
February 13th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sydney, AustraliaSydney, AustraliaSydney, Australia

Leaving Sydney
So, I'm heading off for what could be my last contract with Princess today (I'm ready for a new adventure), but before I did I figured I should throw up a few pictures from the end of my previous contract.

For my last two weeks on the Dawn Princess, we headed out of Sydney and headed straight for New Zealand, where after a couple days at sea and a scenic cruising day through the Fjordlands of southwestern New Zealand, we did 7 ports in 7 days starting in the south and working our way north. For the majority of our stops I spent time with someone from the San Juan Islands in Washington State and the two of us kept saying how much all of the country reminded us of home. It was so much the same that the street signs in Christchurch, the capital of the South Island, were the same font and colouring of the street signs in Victoria.

There's not that many stories from this run, as we primarily stayed in the towns we were docked in and I wasn't able to get any tours, so this entry is mainly pictures. I hope you enjoy.
Fjordlands, NZFjordlands, NZFjordlands, NZ

See, just like home!

The contract that I'm heading out for today will be in the eastern Caribbean (Grand Turk, US Virgin Islands, Netherland Antilles and the Bahamas) and should take me to the middle of April. So until I get back, take care and enjoy the cold!

Zach


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Dunedin, NZDunedin, NZ
Dunedin, NZ

When in Rome....
Dunedin, NZDunedin, NZ
Dunedin, NZ

"I Pity The Foo'"
Christchurch, NZChristchurch, NZ
Christchurch, NZ

Imagine that: a chuch in Christchurch!
Wellington, NZWellington, NZ
Wellington, NZ

As promised: "The Best Lunch Ever"
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

A nice little climb ahead of us...
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

..up we go...
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

...about 235m high...
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

...but well worth it...
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

...for a couple of Canadian PE teachers...
Tauranga, NZTauranga, NZ
Tauranga, NZ

..who want to look down on some sheep...
Auckland, NZAuckland, NZ
Auckland, NZ

220m Sky Tower
Auckland, NZAuckland, NZ
Auckland, NZ

These weren't the crazy people there. Some were skydiving from the top!
Auckland, NZAuckland, NZ
Auckland, NZ

I prefered to stay inside
Port Vila, VanuatuPort Vila, Vanuatu
Port Vila, Vanuatu

Earlier in the trip. This guy was giving us a demonstration on the about 8,456 things that can be done with a coconut


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb