Sea to Sky Classic Adventures in Squamish, British Columbia - Day 1


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Squamish
August 12th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - Sunday, August 12, 2007
Rock climbing on The Smoke Bluffs:

I woke up to your typical Pacific Northwest weather - overcast and looking like there was a chance of rain. I was ecstatic! Where exactly is Squamish, BC you ask? Well, it's about one hour north of Vancouver on the Sea to Sky highway heading to Whistler. And, why did I pick this place to celebrate my recent decision to leave my desk job in San Francisco and move back to the northwest to pursue a new career in outdoor recreation? Well, read on...

These adventures actually took root almost two years ago at the Bearfoot Bistro in Whistler while noshin' on some oysters and champagne after a day on the slopes. That chance meeting led me to an incredible week-long kayak trip in August 2006 up on the Northern Coast of British Columbia by the Great Bear Rainforest near Princess Royal Island. I had such an awesome time on that trip so I decided to work with the same company on this recent adventure. I will revisit my kayak trip from a year ago in another entry so stay tuned. The company and person responsible
Climb On!Climb On!Climb On!

Team Doubleback ready to eat some Burger and Fries!
for all these incredible and truly unique experiences is Norm Hann of Tantalus Adventures (thank you!).

Back to Day 1 of our adventure. My friends Kirsten, Elizabeth, and Jennifer (all from San Francisco) were brave enough to join me on this trip and I was so happy to show them why I love the northwest so much. After the week was over, they got it. It also helped that after a little bit of sprinkle on the first day, the rest of the week cleared up and the weather was gorgeous...sunny and warm. Who wouldn't love the breathtaking views of snowcapped mountain ranges all around you?

Our week started with a day of rock climbing on a nearby cliff called The Smoke Bluffs. We are all novices and I was the only one with some experience but only in a gym. Jeremy Blumel of Squamish Rock Guides was our guide for the day and he and Norm were on belay as we climbed the single pitch routes. We first started out on Burgers and Fries and worked on Dusty Eyes (5.4), Wisecrack (5.7), Burgers and Fries (5.7), Catch Me (5.10a), and Catch Me Quicker (5.10b). Wow, was I ever proud of my friends for finishing all their routes that morning. Climb on! Climbing outdoors is so much different from the gym but I love the freedom of finding your own route as opposed to staying confined to a pre-determined route laid out in the gym for you. I'm definitely hooked and I think my friends are too - woot! That afternoon, we went to another area of The Smoke Bluffs called Pixie Corner and climbed Davey Jones Locker (5.7) and Pixie Corner (5.8). We even got Norm to tie up and climb with me on belay (ha!). We ended the day on the bluffs rappelling down a cliff. None of us had ever done it and it was pretty darn fun.

Not a bad start! After we took off our gear, we headed down to the Watershed Grill by the Squamish River for some well deserved bevvies. Everyone was pretty exhilarated from the experience and we couldn't wait for the next adventure.

A link to all the pictures from this trip will be posted on a future entry but here are some highlights from that day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Stormin the WallStormin the Wall
Stormin the Wall

Norm showing us how it's done with me on belay


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb