First day in Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Richmond
July 16th 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Vietnamese NoodlesVietnamese NoodlesVietnamese Noodles

Tastes about the same as in Australia
This is the first day of my 5 week holiday to Canada and USA to visit my relatives and friends. This trip initially came about because my mum (Ivy) decided to spend a couple of months to help my grandmother (My Dad's mother) in Richmond, just next to Vancouver. My grandmother is now 86 and is having difficulty doing things by herself, so mum has come to help around the house as we start to make arrangements to get help for her locally. So I thought this would be a great opportunity to catch up with the relatives again and to see my friends Martha and Jackson who live in Virginia, USA.

Besides my Grandmother, I have a few Aunts and Uncles in North America. They are all on my father's side. My Father (Bin Hooi) is the eldest son of seven children (4 boys, 3 girls). Just to give you a basic outline of who I will be visiting, here is a list of the relatives I plan to visit on this trip.

UNCLES
1) UNCLE BIN SOO (Gee Chek or Second Uncle) He lives in Richmond with his wife (Irene) and Son (Melvin)
2) UNCLE BIN KENG
MumMumMum

Something light after a long flight
(Say Han Chek or Youngest uncle) He lives in Deep Cove, North Vancouver with his wife (Kelly)
3) UNCLE BIN SIEW (Sa Chek or Third Uncle) He lives in Vancouver, but works in Calgary, Alberta and only comes back once a week approximately. His wife (Winnie) stays in Vancouver. They have 2 daughters, Gabrielle and Danielle. Gabrielle is working in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and Danielle is an exchange student in Milan, Italy, but will be coming back, so hopefully I will meet her on this trip.

AUNTIES
1) AUNTY SEOK LAY (Say Han Kor or Youngest Aunty) She lives in Seattle, USA with her husband (Howard) and two children Christopher and Elizabeth
2) AUNTY SEOK BEE (Gee Kor or Second Aunty) She also lives in Seattle, USA with her husband (Neil) and two children Micah and Jordan
3) AUNTY WAN CHENG (Tua Kor or oldest Aunty) She lives in Ohio, USA, with her husband Larry. She has two boys, Wesley and Kevin. I plan to meet her in New Jersey, where her son Wesley and wife Lisa live.

Hopefully you will get to see all of these relatives over the course of this trip, plus more. They are
Family Photos on the wallFamily Photos on the wallFamily Photos on the wall

These are photos of the family. I'm on the top right in my blue graduation gown.
all great people!

The flight went well, leaving Sydney on Thursday 16th July at 10.25am, and arriving the same day in Vancouver at 7.30am. So after a 14 hour direct flight, we have the pleasure of reliving the same day in Vancouver all over again.

So what's first on the agenda? Being asian, food of course! So after dropping our stuff at grandmother's (Ah Mah) we headed off to the local Vietnamese noodle (Pho) store for lunch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dinner at Ah Mah'sDinner at Ah Mah's
Dinner at Ah Mah's

Mum and Ah Mah in Ah Mah's apartment in Richmond.
Me and Ah MahMe and Ah Mah
Me and Ah Mah

It was nice to see Ah Mah again after a couple of years.
Mum and Ah MahMum and Ah Mah
Mum and Ah Mah

Mum expounding her wisdom to Ah Mah!


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb