Rocky Mountain Lodge on Muncho Lake, B.C.


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We drove straight from Watson Lake to Northern Rockies Lodge at Muncho Lake, in one 3-4 hour segment.

I can't remember any particular event, BUT we saw so many animals, it was like we were at the zoo! (Except, we were in the enclosure and they were running (walking, pacing, meandering) wild). We did a tally at the end of the trip (when we arrived at Calgary) of everything we saw that trip, but this particular leg of the trip, we saw 2 black bear, a bunch of buffalo (including one with her baby), an eagle, and a deer.

About 90 miles (Mile post 543) east-ish is Whirlpool Canyon. I'm not sure what's there, but check it out and let me know!

I vaguely remember talking with Shannan about going to "the Hotsprings", but I'd forgotten until just now, but at Mile Post 496 is the Liards River Hotsprings Provincial Park... Wonder why we didn't go. The website says: "Relaxation seeps into your body as you ease into the second largest hot spring in Canada..." This seems like a good place to stop!! It's open year round, and the water temperatures are 42° C to 52° C.

Unfortunately... we made this plan to join Rich and Shannan on their road trip because it seemed like a "once in a lifetime" trip, and it's so far out there, in the middle of nowhere, I'm not sure I'll be back there again... BUT, if you are ever driving the Alaska Highway, you really should stop!!

I had that same thought about the Northern Rockies Lodge, on Muncho Lake, Mile Post 462. We loved it there! But, can't figure out how we can get back, without driving....

There's an RV park, a bunch of cabins, and a hotel/lodge. (AND the hotel is pet-friendly, which is important, when travelling with puppies!)

The restaurant (which is fully licensed) serves the (second) BEST spaetzle EVER!! How often can you find a restaurant that serves spaetzle anyway? (By the way - the link I included is a recipe from allrecipes.com, but I'm not necessarily vouching for it. I have not yet mastered spaetzle making - but the best I've ever had was made by our friend Henriette... who told me it was easy, but when I tried to make it myself, I had ...goo...)

However, the Schildknecht family, who own and operate the Lodge, know their spaetzle, and schnitzel, and - I can't remember what's on my plate, and I can't find it a menu on-line, but it looks like... stroganoff... what's the German equivalent of stroganoff? I am going to send my picture to them and ask. (Interestingly, when I Google "German stroganoff", the first page all includes "stroganoff and spaetzle". I guess that's what I had. It was yummy!)

Meanwhile, while we were having our lovely dinner, we could hear the puppies howling (actually howling) from the rooms down below.... kind of a mood-killer. The hosts were merciful and hospitable, and instead of expelling us from the hotel, had stories of their own. (Just tobe clear - it was not during the normal sleeping hours - just evening time... once sleep-time came along, and we were back in the room, the puppies were all docile.)

The Lodge is right on Muncho Lake, which is a crystal clear 12 km long lake, within the Muncho Lake Provincial Park. ("Muncho" means "Big Water" in the Kaska language.

Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, delicious food, and gracious hosts - if only I could get back there!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb