Ness Lake News


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Our new Motor Home!Our new Motor Home!Our new Motor Home!

Not really, but it's an interesting setup, huh?! And the yellow stuff you see oozing through the gaps? It's expanding foam! I thought the green door was a very chic touch! (and it runs~~we watched it drive away!)
(Ness Lake Bible Camp)

Spring hasn’t come yet, and the lake is still frozen over, but tomorrow… the ice is supposed to be gone tomorrow. It’s been raining every day, and although it isn’t cold (I’m working indoors, you remember!) it’s cloudy and looks like it should be cold. The other day I made the comment that people up here haven’t even opened their spring and summer catalogs yet, and somebody replied that they’re still busy cutting fire wood! But we can see the buds on the trees, and the grass is ever so green! I have to admit that I haven’t exactly been feeling your warm thoughts about being in these temperatures, but only two people have said it’s our turn for cold weather!!

I think I already mentioned how late it stays light, but last night (in a break in the clouds!) we watched a sunset~~at 8:55 pm. And I know it’s light at 4:30 am, although I’m not sure the sun is up at that time. It must never get dark in July! And we saw a rainbow last night that was unlike any of us had seen…the colors were vivid clear down to the
RainbowRainbowRainbow

Can you see how gorgeous this is? The violet on the bottom of the bow kind of blends in with the sky in the picture, but it didn't in real life.
violet. The rainbow wasn’t remarkably long, but it was so wide, from the red to the violet.


Tonight after Bible Study we walked down to the lake and the ice is disappearing! The far side of the lake is water, like it’s never had ice. I know it didn’t melt because it was there this afternoon. The way it was explained to us is that the ice gets mushy and water logged, and once it begins to break up it flips over, because of the water on top, and sinks. It has such a water content from being mushy that it then becomes heavier than water! I’ve never heard of this happening.

Beginning tomorrow, and continuing until June 27, when school is dismissed for summer “holiday” there will be school kids here having their school trip. Each group spends the day using the equipment, playing games, and learning the basics of archery. Later groups will do boating and canoeing. It's a fun field trip for the classes. Some of the classes will stay the night, but most of them are just day trips. Many will roast hot dogs over the fire for lunch; the rest will eat
The Waddling DuckThe Waddling DuckThe Waddling Duck

This is the pub where we had lunch last Friday.
in the dining room. There’ll be 1100 kids through this camp during the next six weeks!

Little tidbits: Leroy and Arlene saw a black bear last Saturday, just outside the camp property, and then Sunday a man was saying he saw a moose on the sod farm~~about three miles down the road.
Gas is $4.94 a gallon. The US dollar and the Canadian dollar are equal value.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

This sign tickles me!This sign tickles me!
This sign tickles me!

Isn't this one well-worded?! It begins with the idea of grading a flush! We, women, did a lot of giggling about it, and then one morning it was gone...bummer....
Here's a little bragging!Here's a little bragging!
Here's a little bragging!

I painted this picture all on my own! I've done two others in classes, but this is my first solo! Our work schedule leaves time for reading, painting and sewing~~another one of the perks! This is a new hobby for me.
Group photoGroup photo
Group photo

Our Ness Lake Team: Glenn & Joyce, PA, our lead team; LeRoy & Arlene, PA; Hardworking Couple, MT; Henry & Annie, PA. What do you notice about the home state of these fine couples?! Henry & Ann and Glen & Joyce are now from Smithville, TX (RVICS Village) as their permanent address, but the point is we're the only couple not from PA!


16th May 2008

Picture
Your picture is wonderful! Is that from one of the books you bought? or is from something you saw or imagined? It sounds as though you might be having a little bit too much fun. What were you doing up at 4:30 in the morning? Ya, right!!!
16th May 2008

ooops! forgot
BEAUTIFUL RAINBOW
17th May 2008

Hi, Patti!
The picture is from the book I got in Billings. It's supposed to have a big deer in the center, but that didn't appeal to me~~not in the painting part, or the looking at it part! No, this whole thing isn't fun...it's all service and sacrifice!
18th May 2008

I am impressed too. When I read that you painted it, I thought you were joking. then I clicked to enlarge it. You have talent. You are going to be another Grandfma Moses.
19th May 2008

Gramma Moses?
I would hope to be that good! You are kind!
20th May 2008

Why I Don't Build
That camper reminds me why I don't build things. What a hoot. The door doesn't quite fit, but it does cover the hole and do you suppose he ran out of boards at the top, or just hasn't collected anymore along side the road yet. I should print that pic and post it over my workbench just incase I get the itch to create. Chris

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb