Tonight


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Penticton
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post



Hello!

Well, tonight is the night before...Feeling...very anxious and scared!!! I woke up this morning after having a bit of a nightmare. The dream was basically about me not being packed and not ready. I'm pretty sure I'm the most prepared first time solo traveller EVER lol. From having pretty much every single friend, sister, friend of a friend, and even stranger telling me I will have an amazing time and to not worry at all should really put me at ease. I was totally fine the last two monthes, probably more excited than anything, but the last few days...oh boy! I suppose it was the calm before the storm! I know I really have nothing to worry about and as soon as I get there I will be fine but the unknown is always scary. How can I really complain that I'm going to be spending 6 weeks in Thailand?? This trip will be such a big test for myself. Who knows what will happen? I have been preparing myself for this trip since I graduated and I have wanted to go since my sister's went.

I'm going to be flying out of Kelowna tonight at 8:15pm to Vancouver where my good friend Angie is going to pick me up and hopefully my other friend Megan will be there as welll. We are going to spend some time together for a few hours I think and then she will drop me off at my cousin Troy's for the night and then he is going to drop me off about 3 hours prior to my flight at 11:30am. I'm taking a Japanese flight (JAL) that takes about 10 hours I believe. I managed to pick my seat on the 744 plane, back row on the left by the window and near the bathrooms 😊 haha. I will be landing in Narita, Japan the next day Jan 19th at around 2:35pm with a four hour layover where I plane to treat myself with some sushi and maybe a souviener or two. I can say I went to Japan (where I have ALWAYS wanted to go) even if I just stayed in the airport. This airport is apparentally huge as well but I was told by my travel agent that it's very organized. I should brush up on my Japanese just for fun😊 So, then my flight leaves Japan at 6:05pm and arrives in Bangkok at 11:15pm. I have already booked a room through my travel agent and I believe it's called the Grand Pinnacle Hotel in Bangkok. They are suppose to come meet me at the airport with my name on a sign or something silly I bet. So I will sleep the first night and have my americanized breakfast the next morning and then head down to Kho San Road where I will find a travel agent and book a night train to Chiang Mai. I'm also bringing an old cellphone and going to buy a SIM card and a calling card so that I can call home whenever I want. I will have a phone number as well so I can receive phone calls 😊 The only thing I need to add is that it might not work first of all.. and second I hope my plugs I bought work so I can charge everything and also in certain areas I go I might not have cell phone reception. Just throwin that out there 😊 haha. So I suppose I should go pack everything because I believe I ripped everything out of my bags and threw it all over my floor...haha don't ask. I will write soon again 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb