The Transition to "Fun-employed"


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Panorama
May 23rd 2013
Published: May 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

(Post from Mike)

It has been a little while since this has been updated, so time for a mini pre-trip post from the Calgary Airport, as we wait to head back to Toronto!

With great anticipation, May 16th finally came around and Jess and I turned our Out of Office auto-replies on (basically, "we will endeavour to reply to your message upon our return in August 2015, aka find someone else to do the menial task you were going to delegate to us") and immediately headed to the airport for a week in Panorama prior to heading to South America.

I can't think of a better way to unwind from the stresses of working life than time in the mountains of B.C. After a couple rounds of golf, some hours in front of the TV, and at least five too many bottles of wine, I feel sufficiently loose to handle the inevitable chaos that will be navigating through Bolivia for the first couple weeks of our trip.

But the chaos will be arriving even sooner than that. The next five days in Toronto prior to our departure on the 28th will be a flurry of frantic packing as we move out of two apartments, a couple of parties to prepare our livers for South American liquors, and general 'closing out activities' as we get ready to become homeless for the next few months. Readers, prepare your couches for our return!

Jess and I also actually managed to find some time between failing at golf and succeeding at wine consumption, to create a more detailed itinerary of our 63 days in South America. I'll try to post this once I can find it. I can't say that losing most responsibilities and daily stresses from my life has done wonders for my powers of organization or planning...

For now, a couple photos I took from my phone in Panorama. Note that I have not cut my hair in 6 weeks (part of my symbolic transition from corporate to bum). Jess and I were arguing today whether my locks will look Fabio or "Fug-oh-no" in 63 days...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb