I Love Nelson


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nelson
November 10th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

People have been bugging me for another blog ....... so here goes.......

They say Nelson either accepts you and good things happen, or it chews you up and spits you out.

On the day that I arrived back in Nelson ready to WWOOF I had an email sitting in my inbox offering me a job fundraising for a Natural Therapy for Huntington's Disease in Nelson. On the same day my WWOOFer hosts said they had a room coming up for rent in 3 weeks if I wanted it. A week or so later I had 2 freelance grant writing gigs for 2 really interesting projects. One is for a film that a local guy has made revealing the dirty truth behind the Canadian oil industry (White Water Black Gold, it will be released in the new year) and the other is for a an internet TV thing that live streams events in the local community (theatre/music stuff)....... I guess Nelson was accepting me.

I spent 3 weeks WWOOFing on the urban farm in central Nelson. I was mostly doing DIY jobs on the house they had been rebuilding for the last 6 years, whilst at the same time
Sunset over CastlegarSunset over CastlegarSunset over Castlegar

Whilst multi-pitching....
being accepted into the family and finding out about how things work in Nelson. Things are a bit different here, the rules aren't quite the same as the rest of the world. For example I think more people in my village in Uganda owned a mobile phone than they do here in Nelson. Granted they are actually probably cheaper in Uganda, even relatively speaking, so on the one hand they're just too expensive here, but on the other you don't really need one any way. You can manifest things pretty well here. You just have to think about a person you want to get in touch with and in some way or another you'll bump into them or someone who can give them the message. Here's the perfect example. The day I arrived back I wanted to find my friend, so I headed up to his house. Not there. I'm walking back down the hill thinking "Now how the hell can I manifest Mark to walk around the corner?" when I look up and who do I see?! Yes Mark. No kidding.

Nelson is a pretty awesome place to be accepted by. Friendly to the point of almost rediculousness.
Duffy hangfing outDuffy hangfing outDuffy hangfing out

Just one of the awesome people I've met.
You can't walk down the street here without stopping for a chat with someone you just met at a pot luck the night before, or a friends housemate or just someone who likes the look of your hat. I never have lived in one of those picture perfect postcard villages in the UK, but I imagine it's probably something like this. There are weekly markets full of fresh local produce, locally made jewllery, hats, woodwork, photography. You name it, there is someone in Nelson that makes it, even the chocolate. Then there's the music. Oh My God, the music. There is so much local talent here. The bars and clubs have incredible bands and DJs playing every week, not only from Nelson but tons of musicians from all over who want to play in Nelson. Like DJ Crafty was here the other month. Now he's from Brighton so thats just silly.

So I've been dancing lots, I've tried mountain biking, I've been cimbing (yes the knee is better and I'm taking it easy), I've checked out the hot springs, I've been running the trails, I've been to endless potluck dinners (go to dinner and take an unplanned dish, it usually works out remarkably well), I bought a snowboard and boots at a garage sale for $20 and have a ski pass for the local hill, and have met more awesome people than I care to mention right now.

It feels great to be able say "I live in Nelson" and feel proud that this is the place I have decided to make my home for the next year (at least). I feel proud to be a part of this incredible community and I hope I can contribute to it's awesomeness.

I love Nelson.

P.S. No-one actually reads this do they? Cos I've just totally blabbed to the world about this secret little gem. Did I say it was called Nelson? I meant Kelowna. I'm totally living in Kelowna. Google it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

MoiMoi
Moi

Entertaining myself on a climbing trip (there was no-one to belay).
HalloweenHalloween
Halloween

Visiting Angie who was back from China for a bit.
NakuspNakusp
Nakusp

Hotspring central


12th November 2010

i love Nelson
Glad to hear you have found somewhere in the world you really like ,it sounds like it is a lovely little friendly town to live in pleased you are happy with your new life , Mum & Dad XXXXXX
14th November 2010

happiness
Hi Hannah, we love reading your blogs they are always so interesting and full of life. Nelson sounds wonderful and the pics are great,glad to hear you've found work but also really enjoying life, you lucky girl !! Keep safe, keep in touch and keep happy love jan and gordon xx

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb